ZSAB-neoGOLP
Neoadjuvant GOLP in Resectable High-Risk Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma (ZSAB-neoGOLP)
Phase 2/3N = 178NCT04669496
- Population
- Patients with resectable intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma and high-risk recurrence factors (definition not given in the abstract); 178 randomised.
- Design
- Randomised phase 2-3 trial (registry: seamless phase II-III, no masking). Patients with resectable high-risk intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma were randomly assigned 1:1 to the neoadjuvant group (intravenous gemcitabine-oxaliplatin plus toripalimab every 3 weeks for three cycles and oral lenvatinib once daily for 9 weeks, followed by curative resection) or to the control group (curative resection and no neoadjuvant treatment). All patients received adjuvant capecitabine for eight cycles after surgery. Primary end point event-free survival; secondary end points included overall survival and safety. 178 patients were randomised (88 and 90). Interim analysis at a median follow-up of 16.9 months. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04669496: enrolment 178 (actual), status active not recruiting, no results posted, one listed site (Zhongshan Hospital, China).
- Primary endpoint
- EFS
- Arms
- Curative resection, no neoadjuvant treatment (control, n = 90): Curative resection and no neoadjuvant treatment, then adjuvant capecitabine for eight cycles
- Neoadjuvant GOLP then resection (experimental, n = 88): Gemcitabine-oxaliplatin plus toripalimab every 3 weeks for three cycles and oral lenvatinib once daily for 9 weeks, then curative resection and adjuvant capecitabine for eight cycles
- People
- Shi GM, ZSAB Study Group
Δ median EFS+9.3 monthsOSHR 0.43 (95% CI 0.23–0.79)Δ 24-month OS+18 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Neoadjuvant GOLP then resection | Curative resection, no neoadjuvant treatment | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)As described in the registry record: from randomisation to disease progression that prevents radical surgery, local or distant recurrence, a second primary tumour, or death (the registry wording is 'death due to various causes'). | interimmedian follow-up 16.9 monthsShi 2026 | median 18 months (13.8–27.6) | median 8.7 months (7.2–12.4) | P<0.001Primary endpoint at the interim analysis; no hazard ratio for event-free survival is given in the abstract. Adverse events occurred across all treatment phases in 97% of the neoadjuvant group and 70% of the control group. During the neoadjuvant phase, adverse events of grade 3 or higher occurred in 28% of patients and treatment-related adverse events of grade 3 or higher in 26%; no treatment-related adverse event led to death. |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | interimmedian follow-up 16.9 monthsShi 2026 | 79% at 2 y (70–90%) | 61% at 2 y (50–75%) | HR 0.43 (95% CI 0.23–0.79)P=0.005Overall survival was a secondary endpoint. The abstract states the p-value did not meet the significance criterion (two-sided alpha 0.0019). The hazard ratio is for death. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Neoadjuvant GOLP then resection | Curative resection, no neoadjuvant treatment | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)As described in the registry record: from randomisation to disease progression that prevents radical surgery, local or distant recurrence, a second primary tumour, or death (the registry wording is 'death due to various causes'). | interimmedian follow-up 16.9 monthsShi 2026 | median 18 months (13.8–27.6) | median 8.7 months (7.2–12.4) | P<0.001Primary endpoint at the interim analysis; no hazard ratio for event-free survival is given in the abstract. Adverse events occurred across all treatment phases in 97% of the neoadjuvant group and 70% of the control group. During the neoadjuvant phase, adverse events of grade 3 or higher occurred in 28% of patients and treatment-related adverse events of grade 3 or higher in 26%; no treatment-related adverse event led to death. |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | interimmedian follow-up 16.9 monthsShi 2026 | 79% at 2 y (70–90%) | 61% at 2 y (50–75%) | HR 0.43 (95% CI 0.23–0.79)P=0.005Overall survival was a secondary endpoint. The abstract states the p-value did not meet the significance criterion (two-sided alpha 0.0019). The hazard ratio is for death. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 0.43 | 0.23–0.79 |
- Neoadjuvant GOLP then resection (experimental)
- Curative resection, no neoadjuvant treatment (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Neoadjuvant GOLP then resection | Curative resection, no neoadjuvant treatment |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 11 | 65.5% | 41.6% |
| 23 | 41.2% | 16.0% |
| 34 | 27.0% | 6.7% |
| 45 | 17.7% | 2.8% |