Total 16
Total Therapy Study XVI for Newly Diagnosed Patients With Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Phase 3NCT00549848
- Population
- Children and adolescents aged 0 to 18 years with newly diagnosed acute lymphoblastic leukemia; 598 patients
- Design
- Single-institution trial, 2007 to 2017, of risk-directed chemotherapy without prophylactic cranial irradiation in 598 consecutive patients aged 0 to 18 years. Of the 598, 414 were randomly assigned to PEG-asparaginase 3,500 U/m2 (206) or the conventional 2,500 U/m2 (208) (full text). Patients with features associated with increased risk of CNS relapse received two extra doses of intrathecal therapy in the first 2 weeks of induction; their CNS relapse rate was compared with patients with the same features treated in Total Therapy XV (not randomised).
- Arms
- Total Therapy 16 (experimental, n = 598): Risk-directed chemotherapy without prophylactic cranial irradiation; early intensification of triple intrathecal therapy for patients with features of increased CNS relapse risk
- Total Therapy XV, same CNS-risk features (control, n = 248): Historical comparison group: Total Therapy XV patients with the same features associated with increased CNS relapse risk, without the two extra intrathecal doses
- People
- Jeha S, senior author Pui CH, St Jude Children's Research Hospital
Δ 60-month CNS relapse−3.9 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Total Therapy 16 | Total Therapy XV, same CNS-risk features | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSAll patients (598) | primaryJeha 2019 | 88.2% at 5 y (84.9–91.5%) | — | — |
| OSAll patients (598) | primaryJeha 2019 | 94.1% at 5 y (91.7–96.5%) | — | — |
| CNS relapseAll patients (598)Any CNS relapse, isolated or combined | primaryJeha 2019 | 1.5% (0.5–2.5%) | — | 5-year cumulative risk (Results section of the full text); the abstract sentence does not state the time horizon. |
| CNS relapsePatients with features associated with increased CNS-relapse risk (359 in Total Therapy 16; 248 in Total Therapy XV)Any CNS relapse, isolated or combined | primaryJeha 2019 | 1.8% at 5 y (0.4–3.3%) | 5.7% at 5 y (2.8–8.6%) | P=0.0085-year rate. Non-randomised comparison with an earlier study's patients; the two extra intrathecal doses were given to the Total Therapy 16 patients. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Total Therapy 16 | Total Therapy XV, same CNS-risk features | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSAll patients (598) | primaryJeha 2019 | 88.2% at 5 y (84.9–91.5%) | — | — |
| OSAll patients (598) | primaryJeha 2019 | 94.1% at 5 y (91.7–96.5%) | — | — |
| CNS relapseAll patients (598)Any CNS relapse, isolated or combined | primaryJeha 2019 | 1.5% (0.5–2.5%) | — | 5-year cumulative risk (Results section of the full text); the abstract sentence does not state the time horizon. |
| CNS relapsePatients with features associated with increased CNS-relapse risk (359 in Total Therapy 16; 248 in Total Therapy XV)Any CNS relapse, isolated or combined | primaryJeha 2019 | 1.8% at 5 y (0.4–3.3%) | 5.7% at 5 y (2.8–8.6%) | P=0.0085-year rate. Non-randomised comparison with an earlier study's patients; the two extra intrathecal doses were given to the Total Therapy 16 patients. |