SIOP WT 2001
Omission of doxorubicin from the treatment of stage II-III, intermediate-risk Wilms' tumour (SIOP WT 2001): an open-label, non-inferiority, randomised controlled trial
Phase 3N = 583NCT00047138
- Population
- Children with stage II-III, histological intermediate-risk Wilms tumour after 4 weeks of preoperative vincristine and actinomycin D and delayed nephrectomy
- Design
- International, multicentre, open-label, non-inferiority, phase 3 randomised trial: children aged 6 months to 18 years from 251 hospitals in 26 countries who had received 4 weeks of preoperative vincristine and actinomycin D; 583 children with stage II (341) or stage III (242) intermediate-risk Wilms tumour assessed after delayed nephrectomy were randomly assigned 1:1 by minimisation, between Nov 1, 2001 and Dec 16, 2009, to vincristine and actinomycin D with five doses of doxorubicin 50 mg/m2 (standard) or without doxorubicin (experimental). A newly defined high-risk blastemal subtype was excluded from randomisation. Primary endpoint: non-inferiority of 2-year event-free survival, intention-to-treat analysis, margin 10%. The registry record NCT00047138 lists 350 (estimated) and status unknown.
- Primary endpoint
- EFS
- Arms
- Vincristine and actinomycin D with doxorubicin (control, n = 291): Vincristine 1.5 mg/m2 weeks 1-8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, 24, 26 and 27, plus actinomycin D 45 μg/kg every 3 weeks from week 2, with five doses of doxorubicin 50 mg/m2 every 6 weeks from week 2
- Vincristine and actinomycin D without doxorubicin (experimental, n = 292): The same vincristine and actinomycin D schedule without doxorubicin
- People
- Pritchard-Jones K
Δ 24-month EFS−4.4 pointsΔ 60-month OS−0.7 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Vincristine and actinomycin D without doxorubicin | Vincristine and actinomycin D with doxorubicin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFS | primarymedian follow-up 60.8 monthsPritchard-Jones 2015 | 88.2% at 2 y (84.5–92.1%) | 92.6% at 2 y (89.6–95.7%) | Non-inferiority endpoint. Difference 4.4% (95% CI 0.4 to 9.3), which did not exceed the predefined 10% margin. Median follow-up 60.8 months (IQR 40.8 to 79.8). |
| OSRandomised children; the abstract does not state the analysis population for overall survival | primarymedian follow-up 60.8 monthsPritchard-Jones 2015 | 95.8% at 5 y (93.3–98.4%) | 96.5% at 5 y (94.3–98.8%) | Secondary to the non-inferiority endpoint; no test is printed in the abstract. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Vincristine and actinomycin D without doxorubicin | Vincristine and actinomycin D with doxorubicin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFS | primarymedian follow-up 60.8 monthsPritchard-Jones 2015 | 88.2% at 2 y (84.5–92.1%) | 92.6% at 2 y (89.6–95.7%) | Non-inferiority endpoint. Difference 4.4% (95% CI 0.4 to 9.3), which did not exceed the predefined 10% margin. Median follow-up 60.8 months (IQR 40.8 to 79.8). |
| OSRandomised children; the abstract does not state the analysis population for overall survival | primarymedian follow-up 60.8 monthsPritchard-Jones 2015 | 95.8% at 5 y (93.3–98.4%) | 96.5% at 5 y (94.3–98.8%) | Secondary to the non-inferiority endpoint; no test is printed in the abstract. |
Appears in
Sources
Pritchard-Jones K, Bergeron C, de Camargo B, van den Heuvel-Eibrink MM, Acha T, Godzinski J, et al. Omission of doxorubicin from the treatment of stage II-III, intermediate-risk Wilms' tumour (SIOP WT 2001): an open-label, non-inferiority, randomised controlled trial. Lancet. 2015;386(9999):1156-64.