RTOG 0825
Temozolomide and radiation therapy with or without bevacizumab in newly diagnosed glioblastoma (RTOG 0825)
Phase 3N = 637NCT00884741
- Population
- Adults with centrally confirmed newly diagnosed glioblastoma; 978 registered and 637 randomised
- Design
- Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial: radiotherapy (60 Gy) and daily temozolomide with bevacizumab or placebo starting in week 4 of radiotherapy and continued for up to 12 cycles of maintenance chemotherapy; designed to detect a 25% reduction in the risk of death and a 30% reduction in the risk of progression or death, the two coprimary endpoints
- Primary endpoint
- OS, PFS
- Arms
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental): Bevacizumab with radiotherapy (60 Gy) and daily temozolomide, then maintenance chemotherapy for up to 12 cycles; schedule details not in the abstract
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control): Placebo with radiotherapy (60 Gy) and daily temozolomide, then maintenance chemotherapy for up to 12 cycles; schedule details not in the abstract
- People
- Gilbert MR
OSHR 1.13Δ median OS−0.4 monthsPFSHR 0.79Δ median PFS+3.4 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=637); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryGilbert 2014 | median 15.7 months | median 16.1 months | HR 1.13Hazard ratio for death in the bevacizumab group as printed in the abstract, without a confidence interval or P value; the abstract reports no significant difference. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=637); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryGilbert 2014 | median 10.7 months | median 7.3 months | HR 0.79Hazard ratio as printed in the abstract, without a confidence interval or P value; the abstract states progression-free survival was prolonged but did not reach the prespecified improvement target. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=637); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryGilbert 2014 | median 15.7 months | median 16.1 months | HR 1.13Hazard ratio for death in the bevacizumab group as printed in the abstract, without a confidence interval or P value; the abstract reports no significant difference. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=637); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryGilbert 2014 | median 10.7 months | median 7.3 months | HR 0.79Hazard ratio as printed in the abstract, without a confidence interval or P value; the abstract states progression-free survival was prolonged but did not reach the prespecified improvement target. |
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental)
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 10 | 64.3% | 65.0% |
| 20 | 41.4% | 42.3% |
| 30 | 26.6% | 27.5% |
| 40 | 17.1% | 17.9% |
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental)
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 7 | 63.5% | 51.4% |
| 13 | 43.1% | 29.1% |
| 20 | 27.4% | 15.0% |
| 27 | 17.4% | 7.7% |