RESONATE
Ibrutinib versus ofatumumab in previously treated chronic lymphoid leukemia
Phase 3N = 391NCT01578707
- Population
- Relapsed or refractory CLL or SLL with a short duration of response to therapy or adverse cytogenetic abnormalities (patients at risk for a poor outcome)
- Design
- Multicentre, open-label phase 3 study; 391 patients with relapsed or refractory CLL or SLL randomly assigned to daily ibrutinib or the anti-CD20 antibody ofatumumab. Secondary endpoints were overall survival and overall response rate.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Ibrutinib (experimental, n = 195): Ibrutinib orally once daily
- Ofatumumab (control, n = 196): Ofatumumab (anti-CD20 antibody)
- People
- Byrd JC, RESONATE Investigators
PFSHR 0.22OSHR 0.43Δ 12-month OS+9 pointsΔ ORR+38.5 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib | Ofatumumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 9.4 monthsByrd 2014 | 88% at 6 mo | median 8.1 months | HR 0.22P<0.001Median PFS not reached in the ibrutinib group; 88% progression-free at 6 months. Hazard ratio is for progression or death in the ibrutinib group; no confidence interval in the abstract. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 9.4 monthsByrd 2014 | 90% at 12 mo | 81% at 12 mo | HR 0.43P=0.005Hazard ratio for death in the ibrutinib group; no confidence interval in the abstract. |
| ORRRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryByrd 2014 | 42.6% | 4.1% | P<0.001An additional 20% of ibrutinib-treated patients had a partial response with lymphocytosis (abstract). |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib | Ofatumumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 9.4 monthsByrd 2014 | 88% at 6 mo | median 8.1 months | HR 0.22P<0.001Median PFS not reached in the ibrutinib group; 88% progression-free at 6 months. Hazard ratio is for progression or death in the ibrutinib group; no confidence interval in the abstract. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 9.4 monthsByrd 2014 | 90% at 12 mo | 81% at 12 mo | HR 0.43P=0.005Hazard ratio for death in the ibrutinib group; no confidence interval in the abstract. |
| ORRRandomly assigned patients (n=391); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryByrd 2014 | 42.6% | 4.1% | P<0.001An additional 20% of ibrutinib-treated patients had a partial response with lymphocytosis (abstract). |
- Ofatumumab (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% |
| 5 | 65.2% |
| 10 | 42.5% |
| 15 | 27.7% |
| 20 | 18.1% |