Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

RELATIVITY-047

A Study of Relatlimab Plus Nivolumab Versus Nivolumab Alone in Participants With Advanced Melanoma

Phase 2/3N = 714NCT03470922

Population
Previously untreated metastatic or unresectable melanoma
Design
Double-blind randomised phase 2/3 trial of a fixed-dose combination of relatlimab and nivolumab versus nivolumab alone, given intravenously every 4 weeks. Primary end point progression-free survival by blinded independent central review. Control was nivolumab alone; there was no nivolumab-plus-ipilimumab arm.
Primary endpoint
PFS
Arms
  • Relatlimab plus nivolumab (experimental, n = 355): Fixed-dose combination of relatlimab 160 mg plus nivolumab 480 mg intravenously every 4 weeks
  • Nivolumab (control, n = 359): Nivolumab 480 mg intravenously every 4 weeks
People
Tawbi HA, senior author Long GV
PFSHR 0.75 (95% CI 0.62–0.92)Δ median PFS+5.5 monthsΔ 12-month PFS+11.7 pointsOSHR 0.80 (95% CI 0.66–0.99)Δ median OS+16.9 monthsΔ ORR+10 points
Show the numbers
Results reported for RELATIVITY-047
EndpointAnalysisRelatlimab plus nivolumabNivolumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryTawbi 2022median 10.1 months (6.4–15.7); 47.7% at 12 mo (41.8–53.2%)median 4.6 months (3.4–5.6); 36% at 12 mo (30.5–41.6%)HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.62–0.92)P=0.006P value by the log-rank test. Grade 3 or 4 treatment-related adverse events: 18.9% with relatlimab plus nivolumab versus 9.7% with nivolumab.
OSRandomised patients, median follow-up 33.8 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updatemedian follow-up 33.8 monthsTawbi 2025median 51 monthsmedian 34.1 months (25.2–44.7)HR 0.80 (95% CI 0.66–0.99)Descriptive update. The abstract recalls the overall survival improvement as clinically meaningful but not statistically significant and notes that the upper bound of the hazard-ratio interval is now below 1. The 95% confidence interval of the combination median is printed as 34.0 to not reached and is not recorded as a numeric interval.
ORRRandomised patients, median follow-up 33.8 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updatemedian follow-up 33.8 monthsTawbi 202543.7% (38.4–49.0%)33.7% (28.8–38.9%)Described in the abstract as a numerically higher objective response rate.
OSRandomised patients, minimum follow-up 45.3 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updateLipson 202552% at 4 y (46.6–57.1%)42.8% at 4 y (37.5–47.9%)Descriptive 4-year update; the abstract states overall survival was numerically better. Minimum follow-up 45.3 months.
Results reported for RELATIVITY-047
EndpointAnalysisRelatlimab plus nivolumabNivolumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryTawbi 2022median 10.1 months (6.4–15.7); 47.7% at 12 mo (41.8–53.2%)median 4.6 months (3.4–5.6); 36% at 12 mo (30.5–41.6%)HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.62–0.92)P=0.006P value by the log-rank test. Grade 3 or 4 treatment-related adverse events: 18.9% with relatlimab plus nivolumab versus 9.7% with nivolumab.
OSRandomised patients, median follow-up 33.8 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updatemedian follow-up 33.8 monthsTawbi 2025median 51 monthsmedian 34.1 months (25.2–44.7)HR 0.80 (95% CI 0.66–0.99)Descriptive update. The abstract recalls the overall survival improvement as clinically meaningful but not statistically significant and notes that the upper bound of the hazard-ratio interval is now below 1. The 95% confidence interval of the combination median is printed as 34.0 to not reached and is not recorded as a numeric interval.
ORRRandomised patients, median follow-up 33.8 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updatemedian follow-up 33.8 monthsTawbi 202543.7% (38.4–49.0%)33.7% (28.8–38.9%)Described in the abstract as a numerically higher objective response rate.
OSRandomised patients, minimum follow-up 45.3 months, as described in the abstractlong term-updateLipson 202552% at 4 y (46.6–57.1%)42.8% at 4 y (37.5–47.9%)Descriptive 4-year update; the abstract states overall survival was numerically better. Minimum follow-up 45.3 months.
Hazard ratio (95% CI) by endpoint. Values below 1 favour the experimental arm.
PFSOS0.512◀ experimentalcontrol ▶
Data table
EndpointHR95% CI
PFS0.750.62–0.92
OS0.80.66–0.99
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. PFS, primary.
0%25%50%75%100%0510152025Months (modelled)
  • Relatlimab plus nivolumab (experimental)
  • Nivolumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsRelatlimab plus nivolumabNivolumab
0100.0%100.0%
666.2%40.5%
1341.0%14.1%
1927.1%5.7%
2518.0%2.3%
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. OS, long term-update.
0%25%50%75%100%020406080100120Months (modelled)
  • Relatlimab plus nivolumab (experimental)
  • Nivolumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsRelatlimab plus nivolumabNivolumab
0100.0%100.0%
3264.7%52.2%
6441.9%27.2%
9627.1%14.2%
12817.6%7.4%
Primary publication: Tawbi HA, Schadendorf D, Lipson EJ, Ascierto PA, Matamala L, Castillo Gutiérrez E, et al. Relatlimab and Nivolumab versus Nivolumab in Untreated Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2022;386(1):24-34. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Tawbi HA, Schadendorf D, Lipson EJ, Ascierto PA, Matamala L, Castillo Gutiérrez E, et al. Relatlimab and Nivolumab versus Nivolumab in Untreated Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2022;386(1):24-34.

    PubMedDOI

  2. Tawbi HA, Hodi FS, Lipson EJ, Schadendorf D, Ascierto PA, Matamala L, et al. Three-Year Overall Survival With Nivolumab Plus Relatlimab in Advanced Melanoma From RELATIVITY-047. J Clin Oncol. 2025;43(13):1546-1552.

    PubMedDOI

  3. Lipson EJ, Stephen Hodi F, Tawbi H, Schadendorf D, Ascierto PA, Matamala L, et al. Nivolumab plus relatlimab in advanced melanoma: RELATIVITY-047 4-year update. Eur J Cancer. 2025;225:115547.

    PubMedDOI