UNICANCER-PRODIGE 23
Neoadjuvant chemotherapy with FOLFIRINOX and preoperative chemoradiotherapy for patients with locally advanced rectal cancer (UNICANCER-PRODIGE 23): a multicentre, randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial
Phase 3N = 461NCT01804790
- Population
- Adults aged 18 to 75 years with newly diagnosed, biopsy-proven cT3 or cT4 M0 rectal adenocarcinoma, WHO performance status 0-1
- Design
- Open-label, multicentre phase 3 trial at 35 hospitals in France: 461 patients aged 18 to 75 years with biopsy-proven cT3 or cT4 M0 rectal adenocarcinoma were randomly assigned (1:1, June 2012 to June 2017) to six cycles of neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX, then chemoradiotherapy (50 Gy with capecitabine), total mesorectal excision and 3 months of adjuvant chemotherapy, or to chemoradiotherapy, total mesorectal excision and 6 months of adjuvant chemotherapy. Primary endpoint 3-year disease-free survival in the intention-to-treat population.
- Primary endpoint
- DFS
- Arms
- Standard of care (control, n = 230): Chemoradiotherapy (50 Gy with capecitabine), total mesorectal excision, 6 months of adjuvant chemotherapy
- Neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX (experimental, n = 231): Six cycles of FOLFIRINOX, then chemoradiotherapy (50 Gy with capecitabine), total mesorectal excision, 3 months of adjuvant mFOLFOX6 or capecitabine
- People
- Conroy T, Unicancer Gastrointestinal Group and Partenariat de Recherche en Oncologie Digestive (PRODIGE) Group
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX | Standard of care | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFS3-year disease-free survival (primary endpoint) | primarymedian follow-up 46.5 monthsConroy 2021 | 76% at 3 y (69–81%) | 69% at 3 y (62–74%) | HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.49–0.97)P=0.034Stratified hazard ratio. |
| DFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year disease-free survival (long-term analysis) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 67.6% at 7 y (60.7–73.9%) | 62.5% at 7 y (55.6–68.6%) | P=0.048P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 5.73 months (95% CI 0.05 to 11.41). |
| Metastasis-free survivalRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year metastasis-free survival (key secondary endpoint) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 79.2% at 7 y (73.0–84.4%) | 72.3% at 7 y (65.8–77.8%) | P=0.021P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 6.1 months (95% CI 0.93 to 11.37). |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year overall survival (key secondary endpoint) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 81.9% at 7 y (75.8–86.6%) | 76.1% at 7 y (69.7–81.2%) | P=0.033P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 4.37 months (95% CI 0.35 to 8.38). |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX | Standard of care | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFS3-year disease-free survival (primary endpoint) | primarymedian follow-up 46.5 monthsConroy 2021 | 76% at 3 y (69–81%) | 69% at 3 y (62–74%) | HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.49–0.97)P=0.034Stratified hazard ratio. |
| DFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year disease-free survival (long-term analysis) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 67.6% at 7 y (60.7–73.9%) | 62.5% at 7 y (55.6–68.6%) | P=0.048P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 5.73 months (95% CI 0.05 to 11.41). |
| Metastasis-free survivalRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year metastasis-free survival (key secondary endpoint) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 79.2% at 7 y (73.0–84.4%) | 72.3% at 7 y (65.8–77.8%) | P=0.021P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 6.1 months (95% CI 0.93 to 11.37). |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)7-year overall survival (key secondary endpoint) | long term-updatemedian follow-up 82.2 monthsConroy 2024 | 81.9% at 7 y (75.8–86.6%) | 76.1% at 7 y (69.7–81.2%) | P=0.033P value is for the restricted mean survival time difference of 4.37 months (95% CI 0.35 to 8.38). |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| DFS | 0.69 | 0.49–0.97 |
Appears in
Sources
Conroy T, Bosset JF, Etienne PL, Rio E, François É, Mesgouez-Nebout N, et al. Neoadjuvant chemotherapy with FOLFIRINOX and preoperative chemoradiotherapy for patients with locally advanced rectal cancer (UNICANCER-PRODIGE 23): a multicentre, randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2021;22(5):702-715.
Conroy T, Castan F, Etienne PL, Rio E, Mesgouez-Nebout N, Evesque L, et al. Total neoadjuvant therapy with mFOLFIRINOX versus preoperative chemoradiotherapy in patients with locally advanced rectal cancer: long-term results of the UNICANCER-PRODIGE 23 trial. Ann Oncol. 2024;35(10):873-881.