Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

PRIME II

Breast-conserving surgery with or without irradiation in women aged 65 years or older with early breast cancer

Phase 3N = 1,326

Population
Women aged 65 years or older with low-risk early breast cancer: hormone receptor-positive, axillary node-negative, T1-T2 up to 3 cm, clear margins (grade 3 or lymphovascular invasion, but not both, permitted).
Design
Phase 3 randomised trial at 76 centres in four countries, April 2003 to December 2009; stratified by centre; patients had breast-conserving surgery and were receiving adjuvant endocrine treatment; randomised to whole-breast radiotherapy (40-50 Gy) or no radiotherapy. Primary report at median follow-up of 5 years; 10-year report at median follow-up of 9.1 years.
Primary endpoint
IBTR
Arms
  • Whole-breast radiotherapy (control, n = 658): Whole-breast radiotherapy, 40-50 Gy, plus adjuvant endocrine treatment
  • No radiotherapy (experimental, n = 668): No radiotherapy; adjuvant endocrine treatment
People
Kunkler IH
IBTRHR 5.19 (95% CI 1.99–13.52)Δ IBTR+2.8 pointsΔ 60-month OS0 pointsLocal recurrenceHR 10.4 (95% CI 4.1–26.1)Δ Local recurrence+8.6 pointsΔ Distant recurrence as first event−1.4 points
Show the numbers
Results reported for PRIME II
EndpointAnalysisNo radiotherapyWhole-breast radiotherapyEffect
IBTRIpsilateral breast tumour recurrence at 5 yearsprimarymedian follow-up 5 yearsKunkler 20154.1% (2.4–5.7%)1.3% (0.2–2.3%)HR 5.19 (95% CI 1.99–13.52)P=0.0002Hazard ratio is univariate, no radiotherapy versus radiotherapy, p=0.0007. The published erratum (Lancet Oncol 2015;16:e105) corrects only the first sentence of the Interpretation; these values are unchanged.
OSprimarymedian follow-up 5 yearsKunkler 201593.9% at 5 y (91.8–96.0%)93.9% at 5 y (91.8–96.0%)P=0.34
Local recurrenceRandomised women (1326)Cumulative incidence of local breast cancer recurrence within 10 years (primary endpoint, as worded in the 2023 abstract)long term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 20239.5% (6.8–12.3%)0.9% (0.1–1.7%)HR 10.4 (95% CI 4.1–26.1)P<0.001Direction of the hazard ratio is not stated in the abstract; read as no radiotherapy versus radiotherapy because recurrence was more common without radiotherapy.
Distant recurrence as first eventRandomised women (1326)10-year incidence of distant recurrence as the first eventlong term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 20231.6% (0.4–2.8%)3% (1.4–4.5%)—
OSRandomised women (1326)long term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 202380.8% at 10 y (77.2–84.3%)80.7% at 10 y (76.9–84.3%)—
Results reported for PRIME II
EndpointAnalysisNo radiotherapyWhole-breast radiotherapyEffect
IBTRIpsilateral breast tumour recurrence at 5 yearsprimarymedian follow-up 5 yearsKunkler 20154.1% (2.4–5.7%)1.3% (0.2–2.3%)HR 5.19 (95% CI 1.99–13.52)P=0.0002Hazard ratio is univariate, no radiotherapy versus radiotherapy, p=0.0007. The published erratum (Lancet Oncol 2015;16:e105) corrects only the first sentence of the Interpretation; these values are unchanged.
OSprimarymedian follow-up 5 yearsKunkler 201593.9% at 5 y (91.8–96.0%)93.9% at 5 y (91.8–96.0%)P=0.34
Local recurrenceRandomised women (1326)Cumulative incidence of local breast cancer recurrence within 10 years (primary endpoint, as worded in the 2023 abstract)long term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 20239.5% (6.8–12.3%)0.9% (0.1–1.7%)HR 10.4 (95% CI 4.1–26.1)P<0.001Direction of the hazard ratio is not stated in the abstract; read as no radiotherapy versus radiotherapy because recurrence was more common without radiotherapy.
Distant recurrence as first eventRandomised women (1326)10-year incidence of distant recurrence as the first eventlong term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 20231.6% (0.4–2.8%)3% (1.4–4.5%)—
OSRandomised women (1326)long term-updatemedian follow-up 9.1 yearsKunkler 202380.8% at 10 y (77.2–84.3%)80.7% at 10 y (76.9–84.3%)—
Hazard ratio (95% CI) by endpoint. Values below 1 favour the experimental arm.
IBTRLocal recurrence0.512◀ experimentalcontrol ▶
Data table
EndpointHR95% CI
IBTR5.191.99–13.52
Local recurrence10.44.1–26.1
Primary publication: Kunkler IH, Williams LJ, Jack WJ, Cameron DA, Dixon JM. Breast-conserving surgery with or without irradiation in women aged 65 years or older with early breast cancer (PRIME II): a randomised controlled trial. Lancet Oncol. 2015;16(3):266-73. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Kunkler IH, Williams LJ, Jack WJ, Cameron DA, Dixon JM. Breast-conserving surgery with or without irradiation in women aged 65 years or older with early breast cancer (PRIME II): a randomised controlled trial. Lancet Oncol. 2015;16(3):266-73.

    PubMedDOI

  2. Kunkler IH, Williams LJ, Jack WJL, Cameron DA, Dixon JM. Breast-Conserving Surgery with or without Irradiation in Early Breast Cancer. N Engl J Med. 2023;388(7):585-594.

    PubMedDOI