NSCLC Collaborative Group meta-analysis
Needs reviewChemotherapy in non-small cell lung cancer: a meta-analysis using updated data on individual patients from 52 randomised clinical trials
Phase meta-analysisN = 9,387
- Population
- Patients with non-small cell lung cancer in randomised trials of cytotoxic chemotherapy, grouped by the treatment setting compared.
- Design
- Meta-analysis using updated data on individual patients from all available randomised trials, published and unpublished: 52 randomised clinical trials, 9387 patients and 7151 deaths. Main outcome measure: survival.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Without chemotherapy (control): Surgery, radical radiotherapy or supportive care alone, according to the comparison
- With chemotherapy (experimental): The same treatment plus chemotherapy, according to the comparison
- People
- Non-small Cell Lung Cancer Collaborative Group, Non-small Cell Lung Cancer Collaborative Group
OSHR 0.87OSHR 0.87OSHR 0.73
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | With chemotherapy | Without chemotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSTrials comparing surgery with surgery plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.87Hazard ratio 0.87, described in the abstract as a 13% reduction in the risk of death, equivalent to an absolute benefit of 5% at five years. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |
| OSTrials comparing radical radiotherapy with radical radiotherapy plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.87Hazard ratio 0.87, described in the abstract as a 13% reduction in the risk of death with an absolute benefit of 4% at two years. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |
| OSTrials comparing supportive care with supportive care plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.73Hazard ratio 0.73, described in the abstract as a 27% reduction in the risk of death and a 10% improvement in survival at one year. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | With chemotherapy | Without chemotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSTrials comparing surgery with surgery plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.87Hazard ratio 0.87, described in the abstract as a 13% reduction in the risk of death, equivalent to an absolute benefit of 5% at five years. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |
| OSTrials comparing radical radiotherapy with radical radiotherapy plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.87Hazard ratio 0.87, described in the abstract as a 13% reduction in the risk of death with an absolute benefit of 4% at two years. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |
| OSTrials comparing supportive care with supportive care plus chemotherapySurvival, the main outcome measure of the meta-analysis. | primaryNon-small 1995 | — | — | HR 0.73Hazard ratio 0.73, described in the abstract as a 27% reduction in the risk of death and a 10% improvement in survival at one year. No confidence interval is given in the abstract. The abstract does not state whether this ratio is restricted to cisplatin-containing regimens. |