NIAGARA
Perioperative Durvalumab with Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy in Operable Bladder Cancer
Phase 3N = 1,063NCT03732677
- Population
- Cisplatin-eligible patients with muscle-invasive bladder cancer
- Design
- Phase 3, open-label randomised trial (1:1) in cisplatin-eligible muscle-invasive bladder cancer: four cycles of neoadjuvant durvalumab plus gemcitabine-cisplatin every 3 weeks, radical cystectomy, then eight cycles of adjuvant durvalumab every 4 weeks; or four cycles of neoadjuvant gemcitabine-cisplatin then radical cystectomy alone. Event-free survival was one of two primary end points (ClinicalTrials.gov lists pathologic complete response as the other); overall survival was the key secondary end point.
- Primary endpoint
- EFS, pCR
- Arms
- Durvalumab plus gemcitabine-cisplatin (experimental, n = 533): Neoadjuvant durvalumab plus gemcitabine-cisplatin every 3 weeks for four cycles, radical cystectomy, then adjuvant durvalumab every 4 weeks for eight cycles
- Gemcitabine-cisplatin (control, n = 530): Neoadjuvant gemcitabine-cisplatin, then radical cystectomy alone
- People
- Powles T, senior author van der Heijden MS, NIAGARA Investigators
EFSHR 0.68 (95% CI 0.56–0.82)Δ 24-month EFS+8 pointsOSHR 0.75 (95% CI 0.59–0.93)Δ 24-month OS+7 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Durvalumab plus gemcitabine-cisplatin | Gemcitabine-cisplatin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)The abstract's hazard ratio is for progression, recurrence, not undergoing radical cystectomy, or death from any cause. | primaryPowles 2024 | 67.8% at 2 y (63.6–71.7%) | 59.8% at 2 y (55.4–64.0%) | HR 0.68 (95% CI 0.56–0.82)P<0.001 (stratified log-rank test) |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryPowles 2024 | 82.2% at 2 y (78.7–85.2%) | 75.2% at 2 y (71.3–78.8%) | HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.59–0.93)P=0.01 (stratified log-rank test)Overall survival was the key secondary end point. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Durvalumab plus gemcitabine-cisplatin | Gemcitabine-cisplatin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)The abstract's hazard ratio is for progression, recurrence, not undergoing radical cystectomy, or death from any cause. | primaryPowles 2024 | 67.8% at 2 y (63.6–71.7%) | 59.8% at 2 y (55.4–64.0%) | HR 0.68 (95% CI 0.56–0.82)P<0.001 (stratified log-rank test) |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryPowles 2024 | 82.2% at 2 y (78.7–85.2%) | 75.2% at 2 y (71.3–78.8%) | HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.59–0.93)P=0.01 (stratified log-rank test)Overall survival was the key secondary end point. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| EFS | 0.68 | 0.56–0.82 |
| OS | 0.75 | 0.59–0.93 |