MOUNTAINEER
MOUNTAINEER: A Phase II, Open Label Study of Tucatinib Combined With Trastuzumab in Patients With HER2+ Metastatic Colorectal Cancer
Phase 2N = 117NCT03043313
- Population
- Chemotherapy-refractory, HER2-positive, RAS wild-type unresectable or metastatic colorectal cancer
- Design
- Global, open-label phase 2 study at 34 sites in five countries. Initially single-cohort (cohort A, tucatinib 300 mg twice daily plus trastuzumab); after an interim analysis, patients were randomised 4:3 to tucatinib plus trastuzumab (cohort B) or tucatinib alone (cohort C). The primary endpoint was confirmed objective response rate per blinded independent central review in cohorts A and B combined.
- Primary endpoint
- ORR
- Arms
- Tucatinib + trastuzumab (cohorts A and B) (experimental, n = 84): Tucatinib 300 mg orally twice daily plus intravenous trastuzumab
- Tucatinib alone (cohort C) (experimental, n = 30): Tucatinib 300 mg orally twice daily
- People
- Strickler JH
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Tucatinib + trastuzumab (cohorts A and B) / Tucatinib alone (cohort C) | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORR84 patients in cohorts A and B in the full analysis set (HER2-positive by local assessment, at least one dose)Confirmed objective response rate per blinded independent central review, cohorts A and B combined (primary endpoint) | primaryStrickler 2023 | 38.1% (27.7–49.3%) | — | Three complete and 29 partial responses. Cohort C (tucatinib alone, 30 patients) is not reported as a response rate in the abstract. Cohort B was randomised against cohort C, but the primary endpoint combines cohorts A and B; no comparison between arms is made. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Tucatinib + trastuzumab (cohorts A and B) / Tucatinib alone (cohort C) | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORR84 patients in cohorts A and B in the full analysis set (HER2-positive by local assessment, at least one dose)Confirmed objective response rate per blinded independent central review, cohorts A and B combined (primary endpoint) | primaryStrickler 2023 | 38.1% (27.7–49.3%) | — | Three complete and 29 partial responses. Cohort C (tucatinib alone, 30 patients) is not reported as a response rate in the abstract. Cohort B was randomised against cohort C, but the primary endpoint combines cohorts A and B; no comparison between arms is made. |