MDX-010 Antibody, MDX-1379 Melanoma Vaccine, or MDX-010/MDX-1379 Combination Treatment for Patients With Unresectable or Metastatic Melanoma
Phase 3N = 676NCT00094653
- Population
- HLA-A*0201-positive adults with unresectable stage III or IV melanoma whose disease had progressed during therapy for metastatic disease (previously treated)
- Design
- Randomised phase 3 trial (3:1:1) of ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for up to four doses, given with or without a gp100 peptide vaccine, versus gp100 alone; reinduction was allowed. The abstract states the primary end point was overall survival. The registry record lists 1,783 enrolled; the paper randomised 676 HLA-A*0201-positive patients.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Ipilimumab plus gp100 (experimental, n = 403): Ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for up to four doses plus gp100 peptide vaccine
- Ipilimumab alone (experimental, n = 137): Ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for up to four doses
- gp100 alone (control, n = 136): gp100 peptide vaccine
- People
- Hodi FS, senior author Urba WJ
OSHR 0.68Δ median OS+3.6 monthsOSHR 0.66Δ median OS+3.7 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ipilimumab plus gp100 / Ipilimumab alone | gp100 alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryHodi 2010 | median 10 months | median 6.4 months | HR 0.68P<0.001Hazard ratio for death, ipilimumab plus gp100 versus gp100 alone. The abstract reports no confidence intervals and states no difference was detected between the two ipilimumab groups (hazard ratio 1.04; P=0.76). |
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryHodi 2010 | median 10.1 months | median 6.4 months | HR 0.66P=0.003Hazard ratio for death, ipilimumab alone versus gp100 alone. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ipilimumab plus gp100 / Ipilimumab alone | gp100 alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryHodi 2010 | median 10 months | median 6.4 months | HR 0.68P<0.001Hazard ratio for death, ipilimumab plus gp100 versus gp100 alone. The abstract reports no confidence intervals and states no difference was detected between the two ipilimumab groups (hazard ratio 1.04; P=0.76). |
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryHodi 2010 | median 10.1 months | median 6.4 months | HR 0.66P=0.003Hazard ratio for death, ipilimumab alone versus gp100 alone. |
- Ipilimumab plus gp100 (experimental)
- gp100 alone (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Ipilimumab plus gp100 | gp100 alone |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 66.0% | 52.2% |
| 13 | 40.6% | 24.5% |
| 19 | 26.8% | 12.8% |
| 25 | 17.7% | 6.7% |
- Ipilimumab alone (experimental)
- gp100 alone (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Ipilimumab alone | gp100 alone |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 66.2% | 52.2% |
| 13 | 41.0% | 24.5% |
| 19 | 27.1% | 12.8% |
| 25 | 18.0% | 6.7% |