KEYNOTE-905/EV-303
Perioperative Enfortumab Vedotin and Pembrolizumab in Bladder Cancer
Phase 3N = 344NCT03924895
- Population
- Muscle-invasive bladder cancer, ineligible for or declining cisplatin-based chemotherapy (described in the abstract as a predominantly cisplatin-ineligible population)
- Design
- Phase 3, open-label randomised trial in muscle-invasive bladder cancer in participants ineligible for or declining cisplatin-based chemotherapy: perioperative enfortumab vedotin plus pembrolizumab and surgery (surgery after 3 cycles; 9 total cycles of enfortumab vedotin and 17 total cycles of pembrolizumab) versus surgery alone. Primary end point event-free survival; key secondary end points overall survival and pathological complete response. The ClinicalTrials.gov record (595 enrolled) also lists a third arm, pembrolizumab with surgery, which the abstract of this report does not describe; 344 participants were randomised to the two arms reported here.
- Primary endpoint
- EFS
- Arms
- Enfortumab vedotin plus pembrolizumab, then surgery (experimental, n = 170): Perioperative enfortumab vedotin 1.25 mg per kilogram on days 1 and 8 plus pembrolizumab 200 mg on day 1 every 3 weeks, with surgery after 3 cycles; 9 total cycles of enfortumab vedotin and 17 of pembrolizumab
- Surgery alone (control, n = 174): Surgery alone (control)
- People
- Vulsteke C, senior author Ullén A, KEYNOTE-905/EV-303 Investigators
EFSHR 0.40 (95% CI 0.28–0.57)Δ 24-month EFS+35.3 pointsOSHR 0.50 (95% CI 0.33–0.74)Δ 24-month OS+16.6 pointsΔ pCR+48.5 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Enfortumab vedotin plus pembrolizumab, then surgery | Surgery alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primarymedian follow-up 25.6 monthsVulsteke 2026 | 74.7% at 2 y | 39.4% at 2 y | HR 0.40 (95% CI 0.28–0.57)P<0.001 (two-sided)Median follow-up at data cutoff 25.6 months (range 11.8 to 53.7). |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryVulsteke 2026 | 79.7% at 2 y | 63.1% at 2 y | HR 0.50 (95% CI 0.33–0.74)P<0.001 (two-sided)Overall survival was a key secondary end point. |
| pCRRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)Absence of viable tumour after surgical resection (the abstract's definition). | primaryVulsteke 2026 | 57.1% | 8.6% | P<0.001 (two-sided)Estimated difference 48.3 percentage points (95% CI 39.5 to 56.5). Key secondary end point. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Enfortumab vedotin plus pembrolizumab, then surgery | Surgery alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primarymedian follow-up 25.6 monthsVulsteke 2026 | 74.7% at 2 y | 39.4% at 2 y | HR 0.40 (95% CI 0.28–0.57)P<0.001 (two-sided)Median follow-up at data cutoff 25.6 months (range 11.8 to 53.7). |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryVulsteke 2026 | 79.7% at 2 y | 63.1% at 2 y | HR 0.50 (95% CI 0.33–0.74)P<0.001 (two-sided)Overall survival was a key secondary end point. |
| pCRRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract)Absence of viable tumour after surgical resection (the abstract's definition). | primaryVulsteke 2026 | 57.1% | 8.6% | P<0.001 (two-sided)Estimated difference 48.3 percentage points (95% CI 39.5 to 56.5). Key secondary end point. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| EFS | 0.4 | 0.28–0.57 |
| OS | 0.5 | 0.33–0.74 |