Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

KEYNOTE-006

Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Two Different Dosing Schedules of Pembrolizumab (MK-3475) Compared to Ipilimumab in Participants With Advanced Melanoma (MK-3475-006/KEYNOTE-006)

Phase 3N = 834NCT01866319

Population
Advanced (unresectable stage III or IV) melanoma, ipilimumab-naive, up to one previous systemic therapy (excluding anti-CTLA-4, PD-1 or PD-L1 agents), ocular melanoma excluded
Design
Randomised (1:1:1) phase 3 trial of pembrolizumab 10 mg per kilogram every 2 weeks or every 3 weeks versus four doses of ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks. Progression-free and overall survival were the primary end points in the 2015 paper. Eligibility (2017 and 2019 abstracts): ipilimumab-naive, up to one previous systemic therapy, no active brain metastases. The pooled pembrolizumab arm is an exploratory combination of the two schedules, not protocol-specified.
Primary endpoint
PFS, OS
Arms
  • Pembrolizumab every 2 weeks (experimental, n = 279): Pembrolizumab 10 mg per kilogram every 2 weeks
  • Pembrolizumab every 3 weeks (experimental, n = 277): Pembrolizumab 10 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks
  • Ipilimumab (control, n = 278): Ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for four doses
  • Pembrolizumab, both schedules combined (analysis grouping, not a randomised arm) (experimental, n = 556): Pembrolizumab 10 mg per kilogram every 2 weeks or every 3 weeks, combined in the 5- and 10-year reports; an exploratory grouping of the two randomised pembrolizumab arms, not protocol-specified
People
Robert C, senior author Ribas A
PFSHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.46–0.72)Δ 6-month PFS+20.8 pointsPFSHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.47–0.72)Δ 6-month PFS+19.9 pointsOSHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.47–0.83)Δ 12-month OS+15.9 points
Show the numbers
Results reported for KEYNOTE-006
EndpointAnalysisPembrolizumab every 2 weeks / Pembrolizumab every 3 weeks / Pembrolizumab, both schedules combined (analysis grouping, not a randomised arm)IpilimumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201547.3% at 6 mo26.5% at 6 moHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.46–0.72)P<0.001Estimated 6-month progression-free survival rates. Hazard ratio for disease progression.
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201546.4% at 6 mo26.5% at 6 moHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.47–0.72)P<0.001Estimated 6-month progression-free survival rates. Hazard ratio for disease progression.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201574.1% at 12 mo58.2% at 12 moHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.47–0.83)P=0.0005Estimated 12-month survival rates.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201568.4% at 12 mo58.2% at 12 moHR 0.69 (95% CI 0.52–0.90)P=0.0036Estimated 12-month survival rates.
ORRRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201533.7%11.9%P<0.001P<0.001 for both pembrolizumab schedules versus ipilimumab. Responses were ongoing in 89.4%, 96.7% and 87.9% of responders at a median follow-up of 7.9 months.
OSIntention-to-treat (all randomly assigned patients)finalmedian follow-up 22.9 monthsSchachter 201755% at 2 ymedian 16 months; 43% at 2 yHR 0.68 (95% CI 0.53–0.87)P=0.0009Median overall survival was not reached in either pembrolizumab group.
OSIntention-to-treat (all randomly assigned patients)finalmedian follow-up 22.9 monthsSchachter 201755% at 2 ymedian 16 months; 43% at 2 yHR 0.68 (95% CI 0.53–0.86)P=0.0008Median overall survival was not reached in either pembrolizumab group.
OSAll randomly assigned patients (efficacy analysis), pembrolizumab schedules combinedlong term-updatemedian follow-up 57.7 monthsRobert 2019median 32.7 months (24.5–41.6)median 15.9 months (13.3–22.0)HR 0.73 (95% CI 0.61–0.88)P=0.00049Post-hoc five-year analysis (the report's own title); the combination of the two pembrolizumab groups was not protocol-specified. Median follow-up is among surviving patients.
PFSAll randomly assigned patients (efficacy analysis), pembrolizumab schedules combinedlong term-updatemedian follow-up 57.7 monthsRobert 2019median 8.4 months (6.6–11.3)median 3.4 months (2.9–4.2)HR 0.57 (95% CI 0.48–0.67)P<0.0001Post-hoc five-year analysis; pembrolizumab schedules combined (exploratory).
OSRandomly assigned patients, pembrolizumab schedules pooled (556 versus 278)long term-updateLong 2024median 32.7 months (24.5–41.6); 34% at 10 ymedian 15.9 months (13.3–22.0); 23.6% at 10 yHR 0.71 (95% CI 0.60–0.85)Ten-year follow-up report; the abstract gives the same median overall survival values as the five-year report. Ten-year overall survival rates are given without confidence intervals. The abstract states that patients could move to KEYNOTE-587 for long-term follow-up and that the primary end point was overall survival.
Results reported for KEYNOTE-006
EndpointAnalysisPembrolizumab every 2 weeks / Pembrolizumab every 3 weeks / Pembrolizumab, both schedules combined (analysis grouping, not a randomised arm)IpilimumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201547.3% at 6 mo26.5% at 6 moHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.46–0.72)P<0.001Estimated 6-month progression-free survival rates. Hazard ratio for disease progression.
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201546.4% at 6 mo26.5% at 6 moHR 0.58 (95% CI 0.47–0.72)P<0.001Estimated 6-month progression-free survival rates. Hazard ratio for disease progression.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201574.1% at 12 mo58.2% at 12 moHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.47–0.83)P=0.0005Estimated 12-month survival rates.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201568.4% at 12 mo58.2% at 12 moHR 0.69 (95% CI 0.52–0.90)P=0.0036Estimated 12-month survival rates.
ORRRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimRobert 201533.7%11.9%P<0.001P<0.001 for both pembrolizumab schedules versus ipilimumab. Responses were ongoing in 89.4%, 96.7% and 87.9% of responders at a median follow-up of 7.9 months.
OSIntention-to-treat (all randomly assigned patients)finalmedian follow-up 22.9 monthsSchachter 201755% at 2 ymedian 16 months; 43% at 2 yHR 0.68 (95% CI 0.53–0.87)P=0.0009Median overall survival was not reached in either pembrolizumab group.
OSIntention-to-treat (all randomly assigned patients)finalmedian follow-up 22.9 monthsSchachter 201755% at 2 ymedian 16 months; 43% at 2 yHR 0.68 (95% CI 0.53–0.86)P=0.0008Median overall survival was not reached in either pembrolizumab group.
OSAll randomly assigned patients (efficacy analysis), pembrolizumab schedules combinedlong term-updatemedian follow-up 57.7 monthsRobert 2019median 32.7 months (24.5–41.6)median 15.9 months (13.3–22.0)HR 0.73 (95% CI 0.61–0.88)P=0.00049Post-hoc five-year analysis (the report's own title); the combination of the two pembrolizumab groups was not protocol-specified. Median follow-up is among surviving patients.
PFSAll randomly assigned patients (efficacy analysis), pembrolizumab schedules combinedlong term-updatemedian follow-up 57.7 monthsRobert 2019median 8.4 months (6.6–11.3)median 3.4 months (2.9–4.2)HR 0.57 (95% CI 0.48–0.67)P<0.0001Post-hoc five-year analysis; pembrolizumab schedules combined (exploratory).
OSRandomly assigned patients, pembrolizumab schedules pooled (556 versus 278)long term-updateLong 2024median 32.7 months (24.5–41.6); 34% at 10 ymedian 15.9 months (13.3–22.0); 23.6% at 10 yHR 0.71 (95% CI 0.60–0.85)Ten-year follow-up report; the abstract gives the same median overall survival values as the five-year report. Ten-year overall survival rates are given without confidence intervals. The abstract states that patients could move to KEYNOTE-587 for long-term follow-up and that the primary end point was overall survival.
Hazard ratio (95% CI) by endpoint. Values below 1 favour the experimental arm.
PFSPFSOSOSOSOSOSPFSOS0.512◀ experimentalcontrol ▶
Data table
EndpointHR95% CI
PFS0.580.46–0.72
PFS0.580.47–0.72
OS0.630.47–0.83
OS0.690.52–0.9
OS0.680.53–0.87
OS0.680.53–0.86
OS0.730.61–0.88
PFS0.570.48–0.67
OS0.710.6–0.85
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. OS, final.
0%25%50%75%100%010203040Months (modelled)
  • Ipilimumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsIpilimumab
0100.0%
1064.8%
2042.0%
3027.3%
4017.7%
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. OS, final.
0%25%50%75%100%010203040Months (modelled)
  • Ipilimumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsIpilimumab
0100.0%
1064.8%
2042.0%
3027.3%
4017.7%
Primary publication: Robert C, Schachter J, Long GV, Arance A, Grob JJ, Mortier L, et al. Pembrolizumab versus Ipilimumab in Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2015;372(26):2521-32. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Robert C, Schachter J, Long GV, Arance A, Grob JJ, Mortier L, et al. Pembrolizumab versus Ipilimumab in Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2015;372(26):2521-32.

    PubMedDOI

  2. Schachter J, Ribas A, Long GV, Arance A, Grob JJ, Mortier L, et al. Pembrolizumab versus ipilimumab for advanced melanoma: final overall survival results of a multicentre, randomised, open-label phase 3 study (KEYNOTE-006). Lancet. 2017;390(10105):1853-1862.

    PubMedDOI

  3. Robert C, Ribas A, Schachter J, Arance A, Grob JJ, Mortier L, et al. Pembrolizumab versus ipilimumab in advanced melanoma (KEYNOTE-006): post-hoc 5-year results from an open-label, multicentre, randomised, controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Oncol. 2019;20(9):1239-1251.

    PubMedDOI

  4. Long GV, Carlino MS, McNeil C, Ribas A, Gaudy-Marqueste C, Schachter J, et al. Pembrolizumab versus ipilimumab for advanced melanoma: 10-year follow-up of the phase III KEYNOTE-006 study. Ann Oncol. 2024;35(12):1191-1199.

    PubMedDOI