HIMALAYA
Tremelimumab plus durvalumab in unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma
Phase 3N = 1,171NCT03298451
- Population
- Patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma and no previous systemic treatment
- Design
- Global, open-label phase 3 trial; patients with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma and no previous systemic treatment were randomly assigned to one of three regimens: a single dose of tremelimumab plus durvalumab every 4 weeks (STRIDE), durvalumab alone, or sorafenib. The primary objective was overall survival for STRIDE versus sorafenib; non-inferiority of durvalumab versus sorafenib was a secondary objective.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) (experimental, n = 393): Tremelimumab 300 mg (one dose) plus durvalumab 1500 mg every 4 weeks
- Durvalumab (experimental, n = 389): Durvalumab 1500 mg every 4 weeks
- Sorafenib (control, n = 389): Sorafenib 400 mg twice daily
- People
- Abou-Alfa GK
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) / Durvalumab | Sorafenib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE comparison is against sorafenib) | primaryAbou-Alfa 2022 | median 16.43 months (14.16–19.58); 30.7% at 3 y | median 13.77 months (12.25–16.13); 20.2% at 3 y | HR 0.78P=0.0035Hazard ratio for STRIDE versus sorafenib; the abstract gives a 96.02% confidence interval of 0.65 to 0.93 (not a 95% interval). The abstract does not give confidence intervals for the 36-month survival rates. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (durvalumab versus sorafenib) | primaryAbou-Alfa 2022 | — | — | HR 0.86Hazard ratio for durvalumab versus sorafenib; the abstract gives a 95.67% confidence interval of 0.73 to 1.03 and a non-inferiority margin of 1.08. Non-inferiority was a secondary objective. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE versus sorafenib; abstract does not state ITT) | long term-updateSangro 2024 | 30.7% at 3 y; 25.2% at 4 y | 19.8% at 3 y; 15.1% at 4 y | HR 0.78 (95% CI 0.67–0.92)Four-year overall survival update, data cut-off 23 January 2023; median follow-up 49.12 months (STRIDE) and 47.31 months (sorafenib). The 36-month sorafenib rate here (19.8%) differs from the primary report (20.2%). |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE versus sorafenib; abstract does not state ITT) | exploratoryRimassa 2025 | 19.6% at 5 y | 9.4% at 5 y | HR 0.76 (95% CI 0.65–0.89)Updated exploratory analysis of overall survival after 5 years, data cut-off 1 March 2024; median follow-up 62.49 months (STRIDE) and 59.86 months (sorafenib). |
| Endpoint | Analysis | STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) / Durvalumab | Sorafenib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE comparison is against sorafenib) | primaryAbou-Alfa 2022 | median 16.43 months (14.16–19.58); 30.7% at 3 y | median 13.77 months (12.25–16.13); 20.2% at 3 y | HR 0.78P=0.0035Hazard ratio for STRIDE versus sorafenib; the abstract gives a 96.02% confidence interval of 0.65 to 0.93 (not a 95% interval). The abstract does not give confidence intervals for the 36-month survival rates. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (durvalumab versus sorafenib) | primaryAbou-Alfa 2022 | — | — | HR 0.86Hazard ratio for durvalumab versus sorafenib; the abstract gives a 95.67% confidence interval of 0.73 to 1.03 and a non-inferiority margin of 1.08. Non-inferiority was a secondary objective. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE versus sorafenib; abstract does not state ITT) | long term-updateSangro 2024 | 30.7% at 3 y; 25.2% at 4 y | 19.8% at 3 y; 15.1% at 4 y | HR 0.78 (95% CI 0.67–0.92)Four-year overall survival update, data cut-off 23 January 2023; median follow-up 49.12 months (STRIDE) and 47.31 months (sorafenib). The 36-month sorafenib rate here (19.8%) differs from the primary report (20.2%). |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (STRIDE versus sorafenib; abstract does not state ITT) | exploratoryRimassa 2025 | 19.6% at 5 y | 9.4% at 5 y | HR 0.76 (95% CI 0.65–0.89)Updated exploratory analysis of overall survival after 5 years, data cut-off 1 March 2024; median follow-up 62.49 months (STRIDE) and 59.86 months (sorafenib). |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 0.78 | 0.67–0.92 |
| OS | 0.76 | 0.65–0.89 |
- STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) (experimental)
- Durvalumab (experimental)
- Sorafenib (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) | Durvalumab | Sorafenib |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 10 | 65.6% | 65.8% | 60.4% |
| 21 | 41.2% | 41.5% | 34.7% |
| 31 | 27.0% | 27.3% | 21.0% |
| 41 | 17.7% | 18.0% | 12.7% |
- STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) (experimental)
- Sorafenib (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | STRIDE (tremelimumab plus durvalumab) | Sorafenib |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 13 | 72.8% | 67.7% |
| 26 | 46.1% | 36.3% |
| 39 | 28.1% | 17.4% |
| 52 | 25.2% | 15.1% |
Appears in
Sources
Abou-Alfa GK, Lau G, Kudo M, Chan SL, Kelley RK, Furuse J, et al. Tremelimumab plus Durvalumab in Unresectable Hepatocellular Carcinoma. NEJM Evid. 2022;1(8):EVIDoa2100070.
Sangro B, Chan SL, Kelley RK, Lau G, Kudo M, Sukeepaisarnjaroen W, et al. Four-year overall survival update from the phase III HIMALAYA study of tremelimumab plus durvalumab in unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma. Ann Oncol. 2024;35(5):448-457.
Rimassa L, Chan SL, Sangro B, Lau G, Kudo M, Reig M, et al. Five-year overall survival update from the HIMALAYA study of tremelimumab plus durvalumab in unresectable HCC. J Hepatol. 2025;83(4):899-908.