CDRB436G2201 (low-grade glioma cohort)
Dabrafenib plus trametinib versus carboplatin plus vincristine in paediatric low-grade glioma with BRAF V600 mutations (phase 2)
Phase 2N = 110NCT02684058
- Population
- Paediatric patients with low-grade glioma with BRAF V600 mutations scheduled for first-line therapy; 110 randomised (73 dabrafenib plus trametinib, 37 chemotherapy)
- Design
- Randomised (2:1) phase 2 trial of dabrafenib plus trametinib versus standard chemotherapy (carboplatin plus vincristine) as first-line therapy; primary outcome independently assessed overall response (complete or partial response) by Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology criteria; clinical benefit and progression-free survival also assessed
- Primary endpoint
- ORR
- Arms
- Dabrafenib plus trametinib (experimental, n = 73): Dabrafenib plus trametinib; doses not given in the abstract
- Carboplatin plus vincristine (control, n = 37): Standard chemotherapy: carboplatin plus vincristine
- People
- Bouffet E
Δ ORR+36 pointsPFSHR 0.31 (95% CI 0.17–0.55)Δ median PFS+12.7 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Dabrafenib plus trametinib | Carboplatin plus vincristine | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomised patients (n=110); analysis population not stated in the abstractIndependently assessed overall response (complete or partial) by RANO criteria | primarymedian follow-up 18.9 monthsBouffet 2023 | 47% | 11% | P<0.001Risk ratio 4.31 (95% CI 1.7 to 11.2), a ratio of response rates, not a hazard ratio. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=110); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival (assessed alongside the primary outcome) | primaryBouffet 2023 | median 20.1 months | median 7.4 months | HR 0.31 (95% CI 0.17–0.55)P<0.001 |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Dabrafenib plus trametinib | Carboplatin plus vincristine | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomised patients (n=110); analysis population not stated in the abstractIndependently assessed overall response (complete or partial) by RANO criteria | primarymedian follow-up 18.9 monthsBouffet 2023 | 47% | 11% | P<0.001Risk ratio 4.31 (95% CI 1.7 to 11.2), a ratio of response rates, not a hazard ratio. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=110); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival (assessed alongside the primary outcome) | primaryBouffet 2023 | median 20.1 months | median 7.4 months | HR 0.31 (95% CI 0.17–0.55)P<0.001 |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.31 | 0.17–0.55 |
- Dabrafenib plus trametinib (experimental)
- Carboplatin plus vincristine (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Dabrafenib plus trametinib | Carboplatin plus vincristine |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 13 | 63.9% | 29.6% |
| 25 | 42.2% | 9.6% |
| 38 | 27.0% | 2.8% |
| 50 | 17.8% | 0.9% |