Randomized comparison of fludarabine, CAP, and ChOP in 938 previously untreated stage B and C chronic lymphocytic leukemia patients
N = 938
- Population
- Previously untreated patients with Binet stage B (651) or stage C (287) chronic lymphocytic leukemia.
- Design
- Randomised comparison of six monthly courses of ChOP (cyclophosphamide, vincristine, prednisone plus doxorubicin), CAP (cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin plus prednisone) or fludarabine (FAMP), stratified by Binet stage, in 73 centres, 1 June 1990 to 15 April 1998. Endpoints named in the abstract: overall survival, treatment response and tolerance. No NCT number in the PubMed record.
- Arms
- ChOP (control): ChOP, 6 monthly courses
- CAP (control): CAP, 6 monthly courses
- Fludarabine (experimental): Fludarabine (FAMP), 6 monthly courses
- People
- Leporrier M, French Cooperative Group on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
Δ ORR−0.4 pointsΔ CR rate+10.5 pointsΔ median OS+2 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Fludarabine | ChOP / CAP | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | 71.1% | 71.5% | P<0.0001Reported as overall remission rate. CAP was lower than each of the other two; ChOP and fludarabine are described as close. |
| CR rateRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | 40.1% | 29.6% | P=0.003Reported as clinical remission rate. |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | median 69 months | median 67 months | Described in the abstract as not significantly different; no p-value given. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Fludarabine | ChOP / CAP | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | 71.1% | 71.5% | P<0.0001Reported as overall remission rate. CAP was lower than each of the other two; ChOP and fludarabine are described as close. |
| CR rateRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | 40.1% | 29.6% | P=0.003Reported as clinical remission rate. |
| OSRandomised patients (analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryLeporrier 2001 | median 69 months | median 67 months | Described in the abstract as not significantly different; no p-value given. |
- ChOP (control)
- CAP (control)
- Fludarabine (experimental)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | ChOP | CAP | Fludarabine |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 44 | 63.4% | 64.7% | 64.3% |
| 88 | 40.2% | 41.8% | 41.3% |
| 131 | 25.8% | 27.3% | 26.8% |
| 175 | 16.4% | 17.7% | 17.2% |