EORTC 62012
Doxorubicin alone versus intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide for first-line treatment of advanced or metastatic soft-tissue sarcoma: a randomised controlled phase 3 trial
Phase 3N = 455NCT00061984
- Population
- 455 patients aged 18 to 60 years with locally advanced, unresectable or metastatic high-grade soft-tissue sarcoma and WHO performance status 0 or 1
- Design
- Randomised (1:1, minimisation) phase 3 trial at 38 hospitals in ten countries, 30 April 2003 to 25 May 2010; treatment every 3 weeks for up to six cycles. Stratified by centre, performance status, age (<50 vs 50 or older), liver metastases and grade. Median follow-up 56 months (doxorubicin) and 59 months (combination).
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Doxorubicin (control, n = 228): Doxorubicin 75 mg/m2 by intravenous bolus on day 1 or 72-hour continuous infusion
- Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide (experimental, n = 227): Doxorubicin 75 mg/m2 (25 mg/m2 per day, days 1 to 3) plus ifosfamide 10 g/m2 over 4 days with mesna and pegfilgrastim
- People
- Judson I, EORTC Soft Tissue and Bone Sarcoma Group
OSHR 0.83Δ median OS+1.5 monthsPFSHR 0.74 (95% CI 0.6–0.9)Δ median PFS+2.8 monthsΔ ORR+12 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide | Doxorubicin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OS | primaryJudson 2014 | median 14.3 months | median 12.8 months | HR 0.83P=0.076Confidence intervals as published are 95.5%, not 95%: median OS 10.5 to 14.3 months (doxorubicin) and 12.5 to 16.5 months (combination); HR 0.83, 95.5% CI 0.67 to 1.03. Stratified log-rank test. |
| PFSRandomised patients; analysis population not stated in the abstract | primaryJudson 2014 | median 7.4 months (6.6–8.3) | median 4.6 months (2.9–5.6) | HR 0.74 (95% CI 0.6–0.9)P=0.003Stratified log-rank test. |
| ORRRandomised patients; denominators as printed in the abstract | primaryJudson 2014 | 26% | 14% | P<0.000660 of 227 patients (combination) versus 31 of 228 (doxorubicin), as printed. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide | Doxorubicin | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OS | primaryJudson 2014 | median 14.3 months | median 12.8 months | HR 0.83P=0.076Confidence intervals as published are 95.5%, not 95%: median OS 10.5 to 14.3 months (doxorubicin) and 12.5 to 16.5 months (combination); HR 0.83, 95.5% CI 0.67 to 1.03. Stratified log-rank test. |
| PFSRandomised patients; analysis population not stated in the abstract | primaryJudson 2014 | median 7.4 months (6.6–8.3) | median 4.6 months (2.9–5.6) | HR 0.74 (95% CI 0.6–0.9)P=0.003Stratified log-rank test. |
| ORRRandomised patients; denominators as printed in the abstract | primaryJudson 2014 | 26% | 14% | P<0.000660 of 227 patients (combination) versus 31 of 228 (doxorubicin), as printed. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.74 | 0.6–0.9 |
- Doxorubicin (control)
- Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide (experimental)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Doxorubicin | Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 9 | 61.4% | 64.6% |
| 18 | 37.7% | 41.8% |
| 27 | 23.2% | 27.0% |
| 36 | 14.2% | 17.5% |
- Doxorubicin (control)
- Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide (experimental)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Doxorubicin | Intensified doxorubicin plus ifosfamide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 5 | 47.1% | 62.6% |
| 9 | 25.8% | 43.0% |
| 14 | 12.1% | 26.9% |
| 19 | 5.7% | 16.9% |