EORTC 26101
Lomustine and bevacizumab in progressive glioblastoma (EORTC 26101)
Phase 3N = 437NCT01290939
- Population
- Patients with glioblastoma at first progression after chemoradiation; 437 randomised (288 lomustine plus bevacizumab, 149 lomustine alone)
- Design
- Randomised (2:1) open-label phase 3 trial of lomustine plus bevacizumab versus lomustine alone in patients with progression after chemoradiation; primary endpoint overall survival; MGMT promoter methylation, health-related quality of life and neurocognitive function also assessed
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Lomustine plus bevacizumab (experimental, n = 288): Lomustine plus bevacizumab; doses not given in the abstract
- Lomustine alone (control, n = 149): Lomustine alone; dose not given in the abstract
- People
- Wick W, European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)
OSHR 0.95 (95% CI 0.74–1.21)Δ median OS+0.5 monthsPFSHR 0.49 (95% CI 0.39–0.61)Δ median PFS+2.7 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Lomustine plus bevacizumab | Lomustine alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=437); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primaryWick 2017 | median 9.1 months (8.1–10.1) | median 8.6 months (7.6–10.4) | HR 0.95 (95% CI 0.74–1.21)P=0.65 |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=437); analysis population not stated in the abstractLocally assessed progression-free survival | primaryWick 2017 | median 4.2 months | median 1.5 months | HR 0.49 (95% CI 0.39–0.61)P<0.001Locally assessed, not centrally reviewed; reported alongside the primary endpoint. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Lomustine plus bevacizumab | Lomustine alone | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=437); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primaryWick 2017 | median 9.1 months (8.1–10.1) | median 8.6 months (7.6–10.4) | HR 0.95 (95% CI 0.74–1.21)P=0.65 |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=437); analysis population not stated in the abstractLocally assessed progression-free survival | primaryWick 2017 | median 4.2 months | median 1.5 months | HR 0.49 (95% CI 0.39–0.61)P<0.001Locally assessed, not centrally reviewed; reported alongside the primary endpoint. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 0.95 | 0.74–1.21 |
| PFS | 0.49 | 0.39–0.61 |
- Lomustine plus bevacizumab (experimental)
- Lomustine alone (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Lomustine plus bevacizumab | Lomustine alone |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 63.3% | 61.7% |
| 11 | 43.3% | 41.2% |
| 17 | 27.4% | 25.4% |
| 23 | 17.3% | 15.7% |
- Lomustine plus bevacizumab (experimental)
- Lomustine alone (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Lomustine plus bevacizumab | Lomustine alone |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 3 | 61.0% | 25.0% |
| 5 | 43.8% | 9.9% |
| 8 | 26.7% | 2.5% |
| 11 | 16.3% | 0.6% |