PALEO
Palbociclib plus letrozole in oestrogen receptor-positive advanced or recurrent endometrial cancer: double-blind placebo-controlled randomised phase II ENGOT-EN3/PALEO trial
Phase 2N = 77NCT02730429
- Population
- Women with measurable or evaluable oestrogen receptor-positive endometrioid endometrial cancer that was primary metastatic or had relapsed after at least one prior systemic therapy
- Design
- Double-blind, placebo-controlled randomised (1:1) phase II screening trial. Letrozole 2.5 mg on days 1-28 plus palbociclib 125 mg or placebo on days 1-21 of 28-day cycles until progression or unacceptable toxicity. Stratified by number of prior chemotherapy lines, measurable versus evaluable non-measurable disease, and prior medroxyprogesterone or megestrol acetate. 77 patients randomised, 73 treated (36 palbociclib-letrozole, 37 placebo-letrozole). ClinicalTrials.gov lists 78 enrolled.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Palbociclib plus letrozole (experimental): Letrozole 2.5 mg days 1-28 plus palbociclib 125 mg days 1-21 of a 28-day cycle
- Placebo plus letrozole (control): Letrozole 2.5 mg days 1-28 plus placebo days 1-21 of a 28-day cycle
- People
- Mirza MR, ENGOT-EN3/PALEO
Δ median PFS+5.2 monthsPFSHR 0.57 (95% CI 0.32–0.99)
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Palbociclib plus letrozole | Placebo plus letrozole | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSAs reported in the abstract (77 randomised, 73 treated); analysis population not statedInvestigator-assessed progression-free survival | primarymedian follow-up 21.9 monthsMirza 2025 | median 8.3 months (4.6–11.2) | median 3.1 months (2.7–6.8) | Phase II screening trial. Grade 3 or worse adverse events were more common with palbociclib-letrozole (67% vs 30%), most commonly neutropenia (44% vs 0%). |
| PFSAs reported in the abstract (77 randomised, 73 treated); analysis population not stated | primaryMirza 2025 | — | — | HR 0.57 (95% CI 0.32–0.99)P=0.044Hazard ratio from a landmark analysis at 12 months. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Palbociclib plus letrozole | Placebo plus letrozole | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSAs reported in the abstract (77 randomised, 73 treated); analysis population not statedInvestigator-assessed progression-free survival | primarymedian follow-up 21.9 monthsMirza 2025 | median 8.3 months (4.6–11.2) | median 3.1 months (2.7–6.8) | Phase II screening trial. Grade 3 or worse adverse events were more common with palbociclib-letrozole (67% vs 30%), most commonly neutropenia (44% vs 0%). |
| PFSAs reported in the abstract (77 randomised, 73 treated); analysis population not stated | primaryMirza 2025 | — | — | HR 0.57 (95% CI 0.32–0.99)P=0.044Hazard ratio from a landmark analysis at 12 months. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.57 | 0.32–0.99 |
- Palbociclib plus letrozole (experimental)
- Placebo plus letrozole (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Palbociclib plus letrozole | Placebo plus letrozole |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 5 | 65.9% | 32.7% |
| 10 | 43.4% | 10.7% |
| 16 | 26.3% | 2.8% |
| 21 | 17.3% | 0.9% |