ELEVATE-RR
Acalabrutinib versus ibrutinib in previously treated chronic lymphocytic leukemia: results of the first randomized phase III trial
Phase 3N = 533NCT02477696
- Population
- Previously treated CLL with centrally confirmed del(17)(p13.1) or del(11)(q22.3)
- Design
- Open-label, randomised, noninferiority phase 3 trial; patients with previously treated CLL and centrally confirmed del(17)(p13.1) or del(11)(q22.3) randomly assigned to acalabrutinib 100 mg twice daily or ibrutinib 420 mg once daily until progression or unacceptable toxicity. Primary endpoint: independent review committee-assessed noninferiority of PFS.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Acalabrutinib (experimental, n = 268): Acalabrutinib 100 mg twice daily
- Ibrutinib (control, n = 265): Ibrutinib 420 mg once daily
- People
- Byrd JC, senior author Jurczak W
PFSHR 1.00 (95% CI 0.79–1.27)Δ median PFS0 monthsOSHR 0.82 (95% CI 0.59–1.15)
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Acalabrutinib | Ibrutinib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=533); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 40.9 monthsByrd 2021 | median 38.4 months (33.0–38.6) | median 38.4 months (33.0–41.6) | HR 1.00 (95% CI 0.79–1.27)Noninferiority analysis (independent review committee); acalabrutinib determined noninferior to ibrutinib. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=533); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 40.9 monthsByrd 2021 | — | — | HR 0.82 (95% CI 0.59–1.15)Secondary endpoint; median OS not reached in either arm; 63 (23.5%) deaths with acalabrutinib and 73 (27.5%) with ibrutinib. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Acalabrutinib | Ibrutinib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=533); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 40.9 monthsByrd 2021 | median 38.4 months (33.0–38.6) | median 38.4 months (33.0–41.6) | HR 1.00 (95% CI 0.79–1.27)Noninferiority analysis (independent review committee); acalabrutinib determined noninferior to ibrutinib. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=533); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primarymedian follow-up 40.9 monthsByrd 2021 | — | — | HR 0.82 (95% CI 0.59–1.15)Secondary endpoint; median OS not reached in either arm; 63 (23.5%) deaths with acalabrutinib and 73 (27.5%) with ibrutinib. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 1 | 0.79–1.27 |
| OS | 0.82 | 0.59–1.15 |
- Acalabrutinib (experimental)
- Ibrutinib (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Acalabrutinib | Ibrutinib |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 24 | 64.8% | 64.8% |
| 48 | 42.0% | 42.0% |
| 72 | 27.3% | 27.3% |
| 96 | 17.7% | 17.7% |