E1912
Ibrutinib-rituximab or chemoimmunotherapy for chronic lymphocytic leukemia
Phase 3N = 529NCT02048813
- Population
- Previously untreated CLL, age 70 years or younger
- Design
- Phase 3 trial; patients aged 70 or younger with previously untreated CLL randomly assigned 2:1 to ibrutinib-rituximab (six cycles of rituximab after one cycle of ibrutinib alone, then ibrutinib until progression) or six cycles of FCR. Primary endpoint PFS; overall survival secondary. Report of a planned interim analysis.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Ibrutinib-rituximab (experimental, n = 354): Ibrutinib plus rituximab for six cycles (after one cycle of ibrutinib alone), then ibrutinib until disease progression
- FCR (control, n = 175): Six cycles of fludarabine, cyclophosphamide and rituximab
- People
- Shanafelt TD, senior author Tallman M
PFSHR 0.35 (95% CI 0.22–0.56)Δ 36-month PFS+16.5 pointsOSHR 0.17 (95% CI 0.05–0.54)Δ 36-month OS+7.3 pointsPFSHR 0.26 (95% CI 0.14–0.50)Δ 36-month PFS+28.2 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib-rituximab | FCR | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=529); planned interim analysis; the abstract does not state the analysis population | interimmedian follow-up 33.6 monthsShanafelt 2019 | 89.4% at 3 y | 72.9% at 3 y | HR 0.35 (95% CI 0.22–0.56)P<0.001PFS at 3 years; results met the protocol-defined efficacy threshold for the interim analysis. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=529); planned interim analysis; the abstract does not state the analysis population | interimmedian follow-up 33.6 monthsShanafelt 2019 | 98.8% at 3 y | 91.5% at 3 y | HR 0.17 (95% CI 0.05–0.54)P<0.001Overall survival at 3 years. |
| PFSPatients without IGHV mutation (subgroup) | interimShanafelt 2019 | 90.7% at 3 y | 62.5% at 3 y | HR 0.26 (95% CI 0.14–0.50)Subgroup analysis; PFS at 3 years. |
| PFSPatients with IGHV mutation (subgroup) | interimShanafelt 2019 | 87.7% at 3 y | 88% at 3 y | HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.14–1.36)Subgroup analysis; PFS at 3 years. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib-rituximab | FCR | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=529); planned interim analysis; the abstract does not state the analysis population | interimmedian follow-up 33.6 monthsShanafelt 2019 | 89.4% at 3 y | 72.9% at 3 y | HR 0.35 (95% CI 0.22–0.56)P<0.001PFS at 3 years; results met the protocol-defined efficacy threshold for the interim analysis. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=529); planned interim analysis; the abstract does not state the analysis population | interimmedian follow-up 33.6 monthsShanafelt 2019 | 98.8% at 3 y | 91.5% at 3 y | HR 0.17 (95% CI 0.05–0.54)P<0.001Overall survival at 3 years. |
| PFSPatients without IGHV mutation (subgroup) | interimShanafelt 2019 | 90.7% at 3 y | 62.5% at 3 y | HR 0.26 (95% CI 0.14–0.50)Subgroup analysis; PFS at 3 years. |
| PFSPatients with IGHV mutation (subgroup) | interimShanafelt 2019 | 87.7% at 3 y | 88% at 3 y | HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.14–1.36)Subgroup analysis; PFS at 3 years. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.35 | 0.22–0.56 |
| OS | 0.17 | 0.05–0.54 |
| PFS | 0.26 | 0.14–0.5 |
| PFS | 0.44 | 0.14–1.36 |