Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

COMBI-d

A Study Comparing Trametinib and Dabrafenib Combination Therapy to Dabrafenib Monotherapy in Subjects With BRAF-mutant Melanoma

Phase 3N = 423NCT01584648

Population
Previously untreated unresectable stage IIIC or stage IV melanoma with a BRAF V600E or V600K mutation
Design
Double-blind randomised phase 3 trial of dabrafenib 150 mg twice daily plus trametinib 2 mg once daily versus dabrafenib plus placebo. Primary end point progression-free survival; overall survival, response rate, response duration and safety were secondary. A preplanned interim overall survival analysis was reported with the primary paper; overall survival was reported in the Lancet in 2015.
Primary endpoint
PFS
Arms
  • Dabrafenib plus trametinib (experimental, n = 211): Dabrafenib 150 mg orally twice daily plus trametinib 2 mg orally once daily
  • Dabrafenib plus placebo (control, n = 212): Dabrafenib 150 mg orally twice daily plus placebo
People
Long GV, senior author Flaherty K
PFSHR 0.75 (95% CI 0.57–0.99)Δ median PFS+0.5 monthsΔ ORR+16 pointsOSHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.42–0.94)Δ 6-month OS+8 pointsOSHR 0.71 (95% CI 0.55–0.92)
Show the numbers
Results reported for COMBI-d
EndpointAnalysisDabrafenib plus trametinibDabrafenib plus placeboEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLong 2014median 9.3 monthsmedian 8.8 monthsHR 0.75 (95% CI 0.57–0.99)P=0.03
ORRRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLong 201467%51%P=0.002
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimLong 201493% at 6 mo85% at 6 moHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.42–0.94)P=0.02Preplanned interim overall survival analysis. The abstract states that a specified efficacy-stopping boundary (two-sided P=0.00028) was not crossed.
OSRandomised patients (423: 211 and 212) as described in the abstractfinalLong 2015median 25.1 months; 74% at 12 mo; 51% at 2 ymedian 18.7 months (15.2–23.7); 68% at 12 mo; 42% at 2 yHR 0.71 (95% CI 0.55–0.92)P=0.0107Overall survival was a secondary end point. The 95% confidence interval of the combination median is printed as 19.2 to not reached and is not recorded as a numeric interval.
PFSRandomised patients (423: 211 and 212) as described in the abstractfinalLong 2015median 11 months (8.0–13.9)median 8.8 months (5.9–9.3)HR 0.67 (95% CI 0.53–0.84)P=0.0004Based on 301 events; the abstract states the P value is unadjusted for multiple testing.
Results reported for COMBI-d
EndpointAnalysisDabrafenib plus trametinibDabrafenib plus placeboEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLong 2014median 9.3 monthsmedian 8.8 monthsHR 0.75 (95% CI 0.57–0.99)P=0.03
ORRRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLong 201467%51%P=0.002
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)interimLong 201493% at 6 mo85% at 6 moHR 0.63 (95% CI 0.42–0.94)P=0.02Preplanned interim overall survival analysis. The abstract states that a specified efficacy-stopping boundary (two-sided P=0.00028) was not crossed.
OSRandomised patients (423: 211 and 212) as described in the abstractfinalLong 2015median 25.1 months; 74% at 12 mo; 51% at 2 ymedian 18.7 months (15.2–23.7); 68% at 12 mo; 42% at 2 yHR 0.71 (95% CI 0.55–0.92)P=0.0107Overall survival was a secondary end point. The 95% confidence interval of the combination median is printed as 19.2 to not reached and is not recorded as a numeric interval.
PFSRandomised patients (423: 211 and 212) as described in the abstractfinalLong 2015median 11 months (8.0–13.9)median 8.8 months (5.9–9.3)HR 0.67 (95% CI 0.53–0.84)P=0.0004Based on 301 events; the abstract states the P value is unadjusted for multiple testing.
Hazard ratio (95% CI) by endpoint. Values below 1 favour the experimental arm.
PFSOSOSPFS0.512◀ experimentalcontrol ▶
Data table
EndpointHR95% CI
PFS0.750.57–0.99
OS0.630.42–0.94
OS0.710.55–0.92
PFS0.670.53–0.84
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. PFS, primary.
0%25%50%75%100%05101520Months (modelled)
  • Dabrafenib plus trametinib (experimental)
  • Dabrafenib plus placebo (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsDabrafenib plus trametinibDabrafenib plus placebo
0100.0%100.0%
663.9%62.3%
1240.9%38.9%
1728.2%26.2%
2318.0%16.3%
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. OS, final.
0%25%50%75%100%0510152025Months (modelled)
  • Dabrafenib plus trametinib (experimental)
  • Dabrafenib plus placebo (control)
Data table (modelled values)
MonthsDabrafenib plus trametinibDabrafenib plus placebo
0100.0%100.0%
686.8%83.6%
1372.0%65.6%
1960.4%52.5%
2651.0%42.0%
Primary publication: Long GV, Stroyakovskiy D, Gogas H, Levchenko E, de Braud F, Larkin J, et al. Combined BRAF and MEK inhibition versus BRAF inhibition alone in melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2014;371(20):1877-88. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Long GV, Stroyakovskiy D, Gogas H, Levchenko E, de Braud F, Larkin J, et al. Combined BRAF and MEK inhibition versus BRAF inhibition alone in melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2014;371(20):1877-88.

    PubMedDOI

  2. Long GV, Stroyakovskiy D, Gogas H, Levchenko E, de Braud F, Larkin J, et al. Dabrafenib and trametinib versus dabrafenib and placebo for Val600 BRAF-mutant melanoma: a multicentre, double-blind, phase 3 randomised controlled trial. Lancet. 2015;386(9992):444-51.

    PubMedDOI