Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

P9641

Primary Surgical Therapy for Biologically Defined Low-Risk Neuroblastoma: A Pediatric Oncology Group/Children's Cancer Group Intergroup Study

Phase 3N = 915NCT00003119

Population
Patients with low-risk neuroblastoma, including asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b disease (primary objective), stage 1 and stage 4s disease, and patients who required chemotherapy by protocol criteria
Design
Children's Oncology Group study P9641 (registry: phase 3, intergroup POG/CCG; abstract does not state a phase). Maximally safe resection of tumour; chemotherapy reserved for patients with or at risk for symptomatic disease, with less than 50% tumour resection at diagnosis, or with unresectable progressive disease after surgery alone. Primary objective: 3-year overall survival of at least 95% for patients with asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b disease. 915 eligible patients in the paper (registry record NCT00003119: enrolment 968, actual).
Primary endpoint
OS
Arms
  • Surgery alone with restricted chemotherapy (experimental, n = 915): Maximally safe resection; chemotherapy only for protocol-defined criteria
People
Strother DR, Children's Oncology Group
Show the numbers
Results reported for P9641
EndpointAnalysisSurgery alone with restricted chemotherapyControlEffect
OSAll 915 eligible patientsfinalStrother 201297% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 97% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given.
EFSAll 915 eligible patientsfinalStrother 201289% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 89% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given.
OSPatients with asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b diseasefinalStrother 201296% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 96% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. This is the population of the primary objective (3-year OS of at least 95% in asymptomatic stage 2a or 2b disease), but the abstract reports 5-year values, so the analysis is labelled final rather than primary.
EFSPatients with asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b diseasefinalStrother 201287% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 87% ± 2% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The primary objective concerned 3-year OS; the abstract reports 5-year values.
OSPatients with INSS stage 1 diseasefinalStrother 201299% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 99% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
OSPatients with INSS stage 4s diseasefinalStrother 201291% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 91% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
OSPatients who required chemotherapy at diagnosisfinalStrother 201298% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 98% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
Results reported for P9641
EndpointAnalysisSurgery alone with restricted chemotherapyControlEffect
OSAll 915 eligible patientsfinalStrother 201297% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 97% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given.
EFSAll 915 eligible patientsfinalStrother 201289% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 89% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given.
OSPatients with asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b diseasefinalStrother 201296% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 96% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. This is the population of the primary objective (3-year OS of at least 95% in asymptomatic stage 2a or 2b disease), but the abstract reports 5-year values, so the analysis is labelled final rather than primary.
EFSPatients with asymptomatic INSS stage 2a or 2b diseasefinalStrother 201287% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 87% ± 2% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The primary objective concerned 3-year OS; the abstract reports 5-year values.
OSPatients with INSS stage 1 diseasefinalStrother 201299% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 99% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
OSPatients with INSS stage 4s diseasefinalStrother 201291% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 91% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
OSPatients who required chemotherapy at diagnosisfinalStrother 201298% at 5 y—Reported in the abstract as 98% ± 1% (the abstract does not state whether the value after the plus-minus sign is a standard error or another measure of spread); no confidence interval is given. The abstract describes this group as a secondary objective.
Primary publication: Strother DR, London WB, Schmidt ML, Brodeur GM, Shimada H, Thorner P, et al. Outcome after surgery alone or with restricted use of chemotherapy for patients with low-risk neuroblastoma: results of Children's Oncology Group study P9641. J Clin Oncol. 2012;30(15):1842-8. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Strother DR, London WB, Schmidt ML, Brodeur GM, Shimada H, Thorner P, et al. Outcome after surgery alone or with restricted use of chemotherapy for patients with low-risk neuroblastoma: results of Children's Oncology Group study P9641. J Clin Oncol. 2012;30(15):1842-8.

    PubMedDOI