CHIPOR
Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy for recurrent ovarian cancer (CHIPOR): a randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial
Phase 3N = 415NCT01376752
- Population
- First relapse of epithelial ovarian cancer at least 6 months after platinum-based chemotherapy, amenable to complete cytoreductive surgery after six cycles of platinum-based chemotherapy
- Design
- Multicentre, open-label trial at 31 sites in France, Belgium, Spain and Canada. Patients with a first relapse of epithelial ovarian cancer at least 6 months after platinum-based chemotherapy received six cycles of platinum-based chemotherapy (optional bevacizumab); those amenable to complete cytoreductive surgery were randomly assigned during surgery 1:1 to HIPEC (cisplatin 75 mg/m2 in 2 L/m2 at 41 degrees C for 60 minutes) or no HIPEC. The primary endpoint was overall survival.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Surgery without HIPEC (control, n = 208): Cytoreductive surgery without HIPEC
- Surgery plus HIPEC (experimental, n = 207): Cytoreductive surgery with HIPEC (cisplatin 75 mg/m2)
- People
- Classe JM
OSHR 0.73 (95% CI 0.56–0.96)Δ median OS+8.5 monthsΔ Grade 3 or worse adverse events within 60 days of surgery+22 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Surgery plus HIPEC | Surgery without HIPEC | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSIntention-to-treat population, as stated in the abstract (415 patients) | primarymedian follow-up 6.2 yearsClasse 2024 | median 54.3 months (41.9–61.7) | median 45.8 months (38.9–54.2) | HR 0.73 (95% CI 0.56–0.96)P=0.024Stratified hazard ratio. 268 patients (65%) had died at the primary analysis: 126 of 207 with HIPEC and 142 of 208 without. |
| Grade 3 or worse adverse events within 60 days of surgeryNot stated in the abstract | primaryClasse 2024 | 49% | 27% | 102 of 207 patients with HIPEC versus 56 of 208 without. Three deaths within 60 days of surgery, all in the no-HIPEC group. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Surgery plus HIPEC | Surgery without HIPEC | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSIntention-to-treat population, as stated in the abstract (415 patients) | primarymedian follow-up 6.2 yearsClasse 2024 | median 54.3 months (41.9–61.7) | median 45.8 months (38.9–54.2) | HR 0.73 (95% CI 0.56–0.96)P=0.024Stratified hazard ratio. 268 patients (65%) had died at the primary analysis: 126 of 207 with HIPEC and 142 of 208 without. |
| Grade 3 or worse adverse events within 60 days of surgeryNot stated in the abstract | primaryClasse 2024 | 49% | 27% | 102 of 207 patients with HIPEC versus 56 of 208 without. Three deaths within 60 days of surgery, all in the no-HIPEC group. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 0.73 | 0.56–0.96 |
- Surgery without HIPEC (control)
- Surgery plus HIPEC (experimental)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Surgery without HIPEC | Surgery plus HIPEC |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 34 | 59.8% | 64.8% |
| 68 | 35.7% | 42.0% |
| 102 | 21.4% | 27.2% |
| 136 | 12.8% | 17.6% |