A prospective randomized trial comparing percutaneous local ablative therapy and partial hepatectomy for small hepatocellular carcinoma
Needs reviewN = 180
- Population
- Solitary HCC of 5 cm or less
- Design
- Prospective randomised trial of percutaneous local ablative therapy (PLAT) versus surgical resection in patients with a solitary HCC of 5 cm or less. Of 90 randomised to PLAT, 71 received it (19 withdrew consent); 90 were randomised to resection.
- Arms
- Percutaneous local ablative therapy (experimental, n = 90): Percutaneous local ablative therapy (PLAT); the ablation technique is not specified in the abstract
- Surgical resection (control, n = 90): Partial hepatectomy (surgical resection)
- People
- Chen MS
Δ 12-month OS+2.5 pointsΔ 12-month DFS−0.7 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Percutaneous local ablative therapy | Surgical resection | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSNot stated in the abstract (rates reported 'after PLAT and surgery')Overall survival at 1, 2, 3 and 4 years | primaryChen 2006 | 95.8% at 12 mo; 82.1% at 2 y; 71.4% at 3 y; 67.9% at 4 y | 93.3% at 12 mo; 82.3% at 2 y; 73.4% at 3 y; 64% at 4 y | The abstract states there was no statistically significant difference between the treatments and gives no P value or hazard ratio. |
| DFSNot stated in the abstract (rates reported for the two treatments)Disease-free survival at 1, 2, 3 and 4 years | primaryChen 2006 | 85.9% at 12 mo; 69.3% at 2 y; 64.1% at 3 y; 46.4% at 4 y | 86.6% at 12 mo; 76.8% at 2 y; 69% at 3 y; 51.6% at 4 y | The abstract states there was no statistically significant difference between the treatments and gives no P value or hazard ratio. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Percutaneous local ablative therapy | Surgical resection | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSNot stated in the abstract (rates reported 'after PLAT and surgery')Overall survival at 1, 2, 3 and 4 years | primaryChen 2006 | 95.8% at 12 mo; 82.1% at 2 y; 71.4% at 3 y; 67.9% at 4 y | 93.3% at 12 mo; 82.3% at 2 y; 73.4% at 3 y; 64% at 4 y | The abstract states there was no statistically significant difference between the treatments and gives no P value or hazard ratio. |
| DFSNot stated in the abstract (rates reported for the two treatments)Disease-free survival at 1, 2, 3 and 4 years | primaryChen 2006 | 85.9% at 12 mo; 69.3% at 2 y; 64.1% at 3 y; 46.4% at 4 y | 86.6% at 12 mo; 76.8% at 2 y; 69% at 3 y; 51.6% at 4 y | The abstract states there was no statistically significant difference between the treatments and gives no P value or hazard ratio. |
- Percutaneous local ablative therapy (experimental)
- Surgical resection (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Percutaneous local ablative therapy | Surgical resection |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 13 | 95.0% | 92.5% |
| 26 | 80.1% | 80.7% |
| 39 | 70.0% | 71.1% |
| 52 | 67.9% | 64.0% |
- Percutaneous local ablative therapy (experimental)
- Surgical resection (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Percutaneous local ablative therapy | Surgical resection |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 13 | 84.6% | 85.7% |
| 26 | 67.9% | 75.5% |
| 39 | 60.6% | 65.3% |
| 52 | 46.4% | 51.6% |