CheckMate 9DW
Nivolumab plus ipilimumab versus lenvatinib or sorafenib as first-line treatment for unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma (CheckMate 9DW): an open-label, randomised, phase 3 trial
Phase 3N = 668NCT04039607
- Population
- Adults with unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma and no previous systemic therapy; at least one measurable untreated lesion (RECIST 1.1), Child-Pugh score 5 or 6, ECOG performance status 0 or 1
- Design
- Open-label randomised (1:1) phase 3 trial at 163 hospitals and cancer centres in 25 countries; nivolumab plus ipilimumab versus investigator's choice of lenvatinib or sorafenib; randomisation stratified by aetiology, macrovascular invasion and/or extrahepatic spread, and baseline alpha-fetoprotein. Patients had a Child-Pugh score of 5 or 6 and ECOG performance status 0 or 1. Primary endpoint overall survival in all randomly assigned patients; results are from a preplanned interim analysis.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Nivolumab plus ipilimumab (experimental, n = 335): Nivolumab 1 mg/kg plus ipilimumab 3 mg/kg every 3 weeks for up to four doses, then nivolumab 480 mg every 4 weeks
- Lenvatinib or sorafenib (control, n = 333): Investigator's choice of lenvatinib (8 mg or 12 mg daily by bodyweight) or sorafenib 400 mg twice daily
- People
- Yau T
OSHR 0.79 (95% CI 0.65–0.96)Δ median OS+3.1 monthsΔ 24-month OS+10 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab plus ipilimumab | Lenvatinib or sorafenib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSAll randomly assigned patients | interimmedian follow-up 35.2 monthsYau 2025 | median 23.7 months (18.8–29.4); 49% at 2 y (44–55%); 38% at 3 y (32–43%) | median 20.6 months (17.5–22.5); 39% at 2 y (34–45%); 24% at 3 y (19–30%) | HR 0.79 (95% CI 0.65–0.96)P=0.018 (two-sided stratified log-rank)Hazard ratio 0.79 (0.65 to 0.96) as given in the Lancet abstract, which does not state the confidence level of the interval; the FDA labeling (revised 4/2025, Table 79, same analysis: medians 23.7 vs 20.6 months, p 0.0180) gives it as a 95% CI. The overall survival curves crossed early: the abstract reports a hazard ratio of 1.65 (95% CI 1.12 to 2.43) for deaths in the first 6 months and 0.61 (0.48 to 0.77) thereafter. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab plus ipilimumab | Lenvatinib or sorafenib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSAll randomly assigned patients | interimmedian follow-up 35.2 monthsYau 2025 | median 23.7 months (18.8–29.4); 49% at 2 y (44–55%); 38% at 3 y (32–43%) | median 20.6 months (17.5–22.5); 39% at 2 y (34–45%); 24% at 3 y (19–30%) | HR 0.79 (95% CI 0.65–0.96)P=0.018 (two-sided stratified log-rank)Hazard ratio 0.79 (0.65 to 0.96) as given in the Lancet abstract, which does not state the confidence level of the interval; the FDA labeling (revised 4/2025, Table 79, same analysis: medians 23.7 vs 20.6 months, p 0.0180) gives it as a 95% CI. The overall survival curves crossed early: the abstract reports a hazard ratio of 1.65 (95% CI 1.12 to 2.43) for deaths in the first 6 months and 0.61 (0.48 to 0.77) thereafter. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 0.79 | 0.65–0.96 |
- Nivolumab plus ipilimumab (experimental)
- Lenvatinib or sorafenib (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Nivolumab plus ipilimumab | Lenvatinib or sorafenib |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 10 | 77.3% | 73.0% |
| 19 | 57.7% | 49.7% |
| 29 | 43.4% | 31.7% |
| 39 | 38.0% | 24.0% |