CheckMate 498
Radiotherapy combined with nivolumab or temozolomide for newly diagnosed glioblastoma with unmethylated MGMT promoter (CheckMate 498)
Phase 3N = 560NCT02617589
- Population
- Patients with newly diagnosed glioblastoma with unmethylated MGMT promoter; 560 randomised, 280 to each arm
- Design
- Open-label randomised phase 3 trial (1:1) of standard radiotherapy (60 Gy) plus nivolumab (240 mg every 2 weeks for eight cycles, then 480 mg every 4 weeks) versus radiotherapy plus temozolomide (75 mg/m2 daily during radiotherapy, then 150-200 mg/m2/day on 5 of 28 days during maintenance); primary endpoint overall survival
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Nivolumab plus radiotherapy (experimental, n = 280): Radiotherapy 60 Gy plus nivolumab 240 mg every 2 weeks for eight cycles, then 480 mg every 4 weeks
- Temozolomide plus radiotherapy (control, n = 280): Radiotherapy 60 Gy plus temozolomide 75 mg/m2 daily during radiotherapy, then 150-200 mg/m2/day on 5 of 28 days
- People
- Omuro A
OSHR 1.31 (95% CI 1.09–1.58)Δ median OS−1.5 monthsPFSHR 1.38 (95% CI 1.15–1.65)Δ median PFS−0.2 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab plus radiotherapy | Temozolomide plus radiotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=560); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primaryOmuro 2023 | median 13.4 months (12.6–14.3) | median 14.9 months (13.3–16.1) | HR 1.31 (95% CI 1.09–1.58)P=.0037The abstract states the study did not meet the primary endpoint and that temozolomide plus radiotherapy showed a longer median overall survival. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=560); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival | primaryOmuro 2023 | median 6 months (5.7–6.2) | median 6.2 months (5.9–6.7) | HR 1.38 (95% CI 1.15–1.65) |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab plus radiotherapy | Temozolomide plus radiotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=560); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primaryOmuro 2023 | median 13.4 months (12.6–14.3) | median 14.9 months (13.3–16.1) | HR 1.31 (95% CI 1.09–1.58)P=.0037The abstract states the study did not meet the primary endpoint and that temozolomide plus radiotherapy showed a longer median overall survival. |
| PFSRandomised patients (n=560); analysis population not stated in the abstractProgression-free survival | primaryOmuro 2023 | median 6 months (5.7–6.2) | median 6.2 months (5.9–6.7) | HR 1.38 (95% CI 1.15–1.65) |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 1.31 | 1.09–1.58 |
| PFS | 1.38 | 1.15–1.65 |
- Nivolumab plus radiotherapy (experimental)
- Temozolomide plus radiotherapy (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Nivolumab plus radiotherapy | Temozolomide plus radiotherapy |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 9 | 62.8% | 65.8% |
| 19 | 37.4% | 41.3% |
| 28 | 23.5% | 27.2% |
| 37 | 14.8% | 17.9% |
- Nivolumab plus radiotherapy (experimental)
- Temozolomide plus radiotherapy (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Nivolumab plus radiotherapy | Temozolomide plus radiotherapy |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 4 | 63.0% | 63.9% |
| 8 | 39.7% | 40.9% |
| 12 | 25.0% | 26.1% |
| 16 | 15.7% | 16.7% |