CheckMate 143
Effect of nivolumab vs bevacizumab in patients with recurrent glioblastoma: the CheckMate 143 phase 3 randomized clinical trial
Phase 3N = 369NCT02017717
- Population
- Patients with glioblastoma at first recurrence following standard radiation and temozolomide; 439 enrolled and 369 randomised (184 nivolumab, 185 bevacizumab)
- Design
- Open-label randomised phase 3 trial (1:1) of nivolumab 3 mg/kg versus bevacizumab 10 mg/kg every 2 weeks until confirmed progression, unacceptable toxicity or death, in glioblastoma at first recurrence after radiation and temozolomide; primary endpoint overall survival
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Nivolumab (experimental, n = 184): Nivolumab 3 mg/kg every 2 weeks
- Bevacizumab (control, n = 185): Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg every 2 weeks
- People
- Reardon DA
OSHR 1.04 (95% CI 0.83–1.30)Δ median OS−0.2 monthsΔ 12-month OS0 pointsΔ ORR−15.3 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab | Bevacizumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=369); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primarymedian follow-up 9.5 monthsReardon 2020 | median 9.8 months (8.2–11.8); 42% at 12 mo | median 10 months (9.0–11.8); 42% at 12 mo | HR 1.04 (95% CI 0.83–1.30)P=0.76The abstract states the primary endpoint was not met and median OS was comparable between groups. Data cutoff 20 January 2017. |
| ORRRandomised patients (n=369); analysis population not stated in the abstractObjective response rate | primaryReardon 2020 | 7.8% (4.1–13.3%) | 23.1% (16.7–30.5%) | — |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Nivolumab | Bevacizumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised patients (n=369); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (primary endpoint) | primarymedian follow-up 9.5 monthsReardon 2020 | median 9.8 months (8.2–11.8); 42% at 12 mo | median 10 months (9.0–11.8); 42% at 12 mo | HR 1.04 (95% CI 0.83–1.30)P=0.76The abstract states the primary endpoint was not met and median OS was comparable between groups. Data cutoff 20 January 2017. |
| ORRRandomised patients (n=369); analysis population not stated in the abstractObjective response rate | primaryReardon 2020 | 7.8% (4.1–13.3%) | 23.1% (16.7–30.5%) | — |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 1.04 | 0.83–1.3 |
- Nivolumab (experimental)
- Bevacizumab (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Nivolumab | Bevacizumab |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 65.4% | 66.0% |
| 13 | 39.9% | 40.6% |
| 19 | 26.1% | 26.8% |
| 25 | 17.1% | 17.7% |