Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

CheckMate 067

Phase 3 Study of Nivolumab or Nivolumab Plus Ipilimumab Versus Ipilimumab Alone in Previously Untreated Advanced Melanoma (CheckMate 067)

Phase 3N = 945NCT01844505

Population
Previously untreated unresectable stage III or IV melanoma
Design
Double-blind randomised (1:1:1) phase 3 trial of nivolumab alone, nivolumab plus ipilimumab, or ipilimumab alone in untreated advanced melanoma; randomisation stratified by PD-L1 status, BRAF mutation status and metastasis stage. Progression-free survival and overall survival were co-primary end points. The primary paper states the trial was not designed for a formal statistical comparison between the nivolumab-alone and nivolumab-plus-ipilimumab groups (full text, PMC5698905).
Primary endpoint
PFS, OS
Arms
  • Nivolumab plus ipilimumab (experimental, n = 314): Nivolumab 1 mg per kilogram plus ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for four doses, then nivolumab 3 mg per kilogram every 2 weeks
  • Nivolumab (experimental, n = 316): Nivolumab 3 mg per kilogram every 2 weeks plus placebo
  • Ipilimumab (control, n = 315): Ipilimumab 3 mg per kilogram every 3 weeks for four doses plus placebo
People
Larkin J, senior author Wolchok JD
PFSHR 0.42Δ median PFS+8.6 monthsPFSHR 0.57Δ median PFS+4 monthsΔ ORR+38.6 pointsOSHR 0.55
Show the numbers
Results reported for CheckMate 067
EndpointAnalysisNivolumab plus ipilimumab / NivolumabIpilimumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLarkin 2015median 11.5 months (8.9–16.7)median 2.9 months (2.8–3.4)HR 0.42P<0.001Hazard ratio for death or disease progression with a 99.5% confidence interval of 0.31 to 0.57, as published.
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLarkin 2015median 6.9 months (4.3–9.5)median 2.9 months (2.8–3.4)HR 0.57P<0.001Hazard ratio versus ipilimumab with a 99.5% confidence interval of 0.43 to 0.76, as published.
ORRRandomised patients (945) as described in the full textprimaryLarkin 201557.6% (52.0–63.2%)19% (14.9–23.8%)Investigator-assessed objective response rate as printed in the full text; read from the PubMed Central author manuscript. The response rate is not in the abstract.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)long term-updateWolchok 201758% at 3 ymedian 19.9 months; 34% at 3 yHR 0.55P<0.001Minimum follow-up 36 months. Median overall survival was not reached with nivolumab plus ipilimumab.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)long term-updateWolchok 2017median 37.6 months; 52% at 3 ymedian 19.9 months; 34% at 3 yHR 0.65P<0.001Minimum follow-up 36 months.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 2025median 71.9 months (38.2–114.4)median 19.9 months (16.8–24.6)HR 0.53 (95% CI 0.44–0.65)Minimum follow-up of 10 years.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 2025median 36.9 months (28.2–58.7)median 19.9 months (16.8–24.6)HR 0.63 (95% CI 0.52–0.76)Minimum follow-up of 10 years.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 202543% at 10 y19% at 10 yTen-year overall survival rates as printed in the Results (Survival Outcomes) of the open-access full text; no confidence intervals were read for the rates.
Results reported for CheckMate 067
EndpointAnalysisNivolumab plus ipilimumab / NivolumabIpilimumabEffect
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLarkin 2015median 11.5 months (8.9–16.7)median 2.9 months (2.8–3.4)HR 0.42P<0.001Hazard ratio for death or disease progression with a 99.5% confidence interval of 0.31 to 0.57, as published.
PFSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)primaryLarkin 2015median 6.9 months (4.3–9.5)median 2.9 months (2.8–3.4)HR 0.57P<0.001Hazard ratio versus ipilimumab with a 99.5% confidence interval of 0.43 to 0.76, as published.
ORRRandomised patients (945) as described in the full textprimaryLarkin 201557.6% (52.0–63.2%)19% (14.9–23.8%)Investigator-assessed objective response rate as printed in the full text; read from the PubMed Central author manuscript. The response rate is not in the abstract.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)long term-updateWolchok 201758% at 3 ymedian 19.9 months; 34% at 3 yHR 0.55P<0.001Minimum follow-up 36 months. Median overall survival was not reached with nivolumab plus ipilimumab.
OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there)long term-updateWolchok 2017median 37.6 months; 52% at 3 ymedian 19.9 months; 34% at 3 yHR 0.65P<0.001Minimum follow-up 36 months.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 2025median 71.9 months (38.2–114.4)median 19.9 months (16.8–24.6)HR 0.53 (95% CI 0.44–0.65)Minimum follow-up of 10 years.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 2025median 36.9 months (28.2–58.7)median 19.9 months (16.8–24.6)HR 0.63 (95% CI 0.52–0.76)Minimum follow-up of 10 years.
OSIntention-to-treat population (full text, Figure 1 legend)finalWolchok 202543% at 10 y19% at 10 yTen-year overall survival rates as printed in the Results (Survival Outcomes) of the open-access full text; no confidence intervals were read for the rates.
Hazard ratio (95% CI) by endpoint. Values below 1 favour the experimental arm.
OSOS0.512◀ experimentalcontrol ▶
Data table
EndpointHR95% CI
OS0.530.44–0.65
OS0.630.52–0.76
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. PFS, primary.
0%25%50%75%100%0510152025Months (modelled)
  • Nivolumab plus ipilimumab (experimental)
  • Ipilimumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsNivolumab plus ipilimumabIpilimumab
0100.0%100.0%
765.6%18.8%
1443.0%3.5%
2226.6%0.5%
2917.4%0.1%
Illustrative — modelled from reported values, not trial data. PFS, primary.
0%25%50%75%100%051015Months (modelled)
  • Nivolumab (experimental)
  • Ipilimumab (control)

Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.

Data table (modelled values)
MonthsNivolumabIpilimumab
0100.0%100.0%
466.9%38.4%
940.5%11.6%
1327.1%4.5%
1718.1%1.7%
Primary publication: Larkin J, Chiarion-Sileni V, Gonzalez R, Grob JJ, Cowey CL, Lao CD, et al. Combined Nivolumab and Ipilimumab or Monotherapy in Untreated Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2015;373(1):23-34. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Larkin J, Chiarion-Sileni V, Gonzalez R, Grob JJ, Cowey CL, Lao CD, et al. Combined Nivolumab and Ipilimumab or Monotherapy in Untreated Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2015;373(1):23-34.

    PubMedDOI

  2. Wolchok JD, Chiarion-Sileni V, Gonzalez R, Rutkowski P, Grob JJ, Cowey CL, et al. Overall Survival with Combined Nivolumab and Ipilimumab in Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2017;377(14):1345-1356.

    PubMedDOI

  3. Wolchok JD, Chiarion-Sileni V, Rutkowski P, Cowey CL, Schadendorf D, Wagstaff J, et al. Final, 10-Year Outcomes with Nivolumab plus Ipilimumab in Advanced Melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2025;392(1):11-22.

    PubMedDOI