CheckMate 040
Nivolumab in patients with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (CheckMate 040): an open-label, non-comparative, phase 1/2 dose escalation and expansion trial
Phase 1/2N = 262NCT01658878
- Population
- Adults with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma with or without hepatitis C or B infection; 262 eligible patients treated (48 in dose escalation and 214 in dose expansion)
- Design
- Open-label, non-comparative dose-escalation (3+3 design, nivolumab 0.1-10 mg/kg every 2 weeks) and dose-expansion (nivolumab 3 mg/kg every 2 weeks in four cohorts) trial. Primary endpoints were safety and tolerability for the escalation phase and objective response rate (RECIST 1.1) for the expansion phase. Previous sorafenib was allowed.
- Primary endpoint
- ORR
- Arms
- Dose escalation (experimental, n = 48): Nivolumab 0.1-10 mg/kg every 2 weeks
- Dose expansion (experimental, n = 214): Nivolumab 3 mg/kg every 2 weeks
- People
- El-Khoueiry AB
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Dose escalation / Dose expansion | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRTreated patients in each phase (abstract does not state ITT) | primaryEl-Khoueiry 2017 | 15% (6–28%) | — | Objective response rate in patients treated with nivolumab 3 mg/kg in the dose-expansion phase (20%) and in the dose-escalation phase (15%). The abstract does not give the response rate of the sorafenib-progressor cohort; the full text reports 12 of 57 (21%) responses in the cohort of sorafenib progressors without viral hepatitis (one of four expansion cohorts). |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Dose escalation / Dose expansion | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRTreated patients in each phase (abstract does not state ITT) | primaryEl-Khoueiry 2017 | 15% (6–28%) | — | Objective response rate in patients treated with nivolumab 3 mg/kg in the dose-expansion phase (20%) and in the dose-escalation phase (15%). The abstract does not give the response rate of the sorafenib-progressor cohort; the full text reports 12 of 57 (21%) responses in the cohort of sorafenib progressors without viral hepatitis (one of four expansion cohorts). |