CAM307
A Phase III Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Front-Line Therapy With Alemtuzumab (Campath, MabCampath) vs Chlorambucil in Patients With Progressive B-Cell Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
Phase 3N = 297NCT00046683
- Population
- Previously untreated patients with progressive B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia requiring treatment.
- Design
- Randomised comparison of intravenous alemtuzumab (30 mg three times per week for up to 12 weeks) with chlorambucil (40 mg/m2 every 28 days for up to 12 months) as first-line treatment; open-label per the registry record. Primary endpoint PFS. ClinicalTrials.gov (organisation study ID CAM307) lists 284 as the planned/enrolled number, against 297 randomised in the paper (the paper's number is used).
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Alemtuzumab (experimental, n = 149): Intravenous alemtuzumab 30 mg three times per week, up to 12 weeks
- Chlorambucil (control, n = 148): Chlorambucil 40 mg/m2 every 28 days, up to 12 months
- People
- Hillmen P
PFSHR 0.58Δ ORR+28 pointsΔ CR rate+22 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Alemtuzumab | Chlorambucil | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | — | — | HR 0.58P=0.0001Hazard ratio without a confidence interval in the abstract; medians not given in the abstract. Median time to alternative treatment 23.3 vs 14.7 months with chlorambucil (HR 0.54; P=.0001). |
| ORRRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | 83% | 55% | P<0.0001 |
| CR rateRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | 24% | 2% | P<0.0001Minimal residual disease was eliminated in 11 of 36 complete responders to alemtuzumab and in none with chlorambucil. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Alemtuzumab | Chlorambucil | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | — | — | HR 0.58P=0.0001Hazard ratio without a confidence interval in the abstract; medians not given in the abstract. Median time to alternative treatment 23.3 vs 14.7 months with chlorambucil (HR 0.54; P=.0001). |
| ORRRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | 83% | 55% | P<0.0001 |
| CR rateRandomised patients (297; analysis population not stated in the abstract) | primaryHillmen 2007 | 24% | 2% | P<0.0001Minimal residual disease was eliminated in 11 of 36 complete responders to alemtuzumab and in none with chlorambucil. |