CABOSUN
Cabozantinib-s-malate or Sunitinib Malate in Treating Patients With Previously Untreated Locally Advanced or Metastatic Kidney Cancer
Phase 2N = 157NCT01835158
- Population
- Untreated clear cell metastatic renal cell carcinoma, IMDC intermediate or poor risk, ECOG performance status 0 to 2
- Design
- Randomised (1:1) multicentre phase 2 trial (Alliance A031203) of cabozantinib 60 mg once daily versus sunitinib 50 mg once daily (4 weeks on, 2 weeks off) as first-line therapy; ECOG performance status 0 to 2; International Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma Database Consortium (IMDC) intermediate or poor risk. Primary end point progression-free survival; objective response rate, overall survival and safety were secondary. One-sided P value reported for PFS.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Cabozantinib (experimental, n = 79): Cabozantinib 60 mg orally once daily
- Sunitinib (control, n = 78): Sunitinib 50 mg orally once daily, 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off
- People
- Choueiri TK, senior author Morris MJ, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
PFSHR 0.66 (95% CI 0.46–0.95)Δ median PFS+2.6 monthsΔ ORR+21 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Cabozantinib | Sunitinib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomised patients as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryChoueiri 2017 | median 8.2 months | median 5.6 months | HR 0.66 (95% CI 0.46–0.95)P=0.012 (one-sided)Adjusted hazard ratio; the abstract reports a one-sided P value of .012. |
| ORRRandomised patients as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryChoueiri 2017 | 33% (23–44%) | 12% (5.4–21.0%) | — |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Cabozantinib | Sunitinib | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomised patients as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryChoueiri 2017 | median 8.2 months | median 5.6 months | HR 0.66 (95% CI 0.46–0.95)P=0.012 (one-sided)Adjusted hazard ratio; the abstract reports a one-sided P value of .012. |
| ORRRandomised patients as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryChoueiri 2017 | 33% (23–44%) | 12% (5.4–21.0%) | — |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.66 | 0.46–0.95 |
- Cabozantinib (experimental)
- Sunitinib (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Cabozantinib | Sunitinib |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 5 | 65.5% | 53.9% |
| 10 | 42.9% | 29.0% |
| 15 | 28.1% | 15.6% |
| 21 | 16.9% | 7.4% |