Dacarbazine and Ipilimumab vs. Dacarbazine With Placebo in Untreated Unresectable Stage III or IV Melanoma
Phase 3N = 502NCT00324155
- Population
- Previously untreated metastatic melanoma
- Design
- Randomised (1:1) double-blind phase 3 trial of ipilimumab 10 mg per kilogram plus dacarbazine 850 mg per square metre versus dacarbazine plus placebo, given at weeks 1, 4, 7 and 10, then dacarbazine alone every 3 weeks through week 22; patients with stable disease or response received ipilimumab or placebo every 12 weeks as maintenance. Primary end point overall survival. The registry record lists 681; the paper randomised 502.
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- Ipilimumab plus dacarbazine (experimental): Ipilimumab 10 mg per kilogram plus dacarbazine 850 mg per square metre at weeks 1, 4, 7 and 10, then dacarbazine every 3 weeks through week 22, then ipilimumab every 12 weeks as maintenance in eligible patients
- Dacarbazine plus placebo (control): Dacarbazine 850 mg per square metre plus placebo at weeks 1, 4, 7 and 10, then dacarbazine every 3 weeks through week 22, then placebo every 12 weeks as maintenance in eligible patients
- People
- Robert C, senior author Wolchok JD
OSHR 0.72Δ median OS+2.1 monthsΔ 12-month OS+11 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ipilimumab plus dacarbazine | Dacarbazine plus placebo | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryRobert 2011 | median 11.2 months; 47.3% at 12 mo; 28.5% at 2 y; 20.8% at 3 y | median 9.1 months; 36.3% at 12 mo; 17.9% at 2 y; 12.2% at 3 y | HR 0.72P<0.001Hazard ratio for death. The abstract gives no confidence intervals. Grade 3 or 4 adverse events: 56.3% with ipilimumab plus dacarbazine versus 27.5% with dacarbazine plus placebo (P<0.001). |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ipilimumab plus dacarbazine | Dacarbazine plus placebo | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OSRandomised population as described in the abstract (analysis population not stated there) | primaryRobert 2011 | median 11.2 months; 47.3% at 12 mo; 28.5% at 2 y; 20.8% at 3 y | median 9.1 months; 36.3% at 12 mo; 17.9% at 2 y; 12.2% at 3 y | HR 0.72P<0.001Hazard ratio for death. The abstract gives no confidence intervals. Grade 3 or 4 adverse events: 56.3% with ipilimumab plus dacarbazine versus 27.5% with dacarbazine plus placebo (P<0.001). |
- Ipilimumab plus dacarbazine (experimental)
- Dacarbazine plus placebo (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Ipilimumab plus dacarbazine | Dacarbazine plus placebo |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 10 | 54.1% | 44.3% |
| 19 | 33.8% | 22.4% |
| 29 | 24.5% | 14.6% |
| 39 | 20.8% | 12.2% |