BRAIN
Bevacizumab alone or in combination with irinotecan in recurrent glioblastoma (BRAIN, AVF3708g)
Phase 2N = 167NCT00345163
- Population
- Patients with recurrent glioblastoma; 167 randomly assigned
- Design
- Randomised, multicentre, open-label, noncomparative phase 2 trial: bevacizumab 10 mg/kg alone or with irinotecan (340 mg/m2 or 125 mg/m2, with or without concomitant enzyme-inducing antiepileptic drugs, respectively) once every 2 weeks; primary endpoints 6-month progression-free survival and objective response rate by independent radiology review; secondary endpoints safety and overall survival
- Primary endpoint
- ORR, PFS
- Arms
- Bevacizumab alone (experimental): Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg once every 2 weeks
- Bevacizumab plus irinotecan (experimental): Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg plus irinotecan (340 mg/m2 or 125 mg/m2) once every 2 weeks
- People
- Friedman HS
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab alone / Bevacizumab plus irinotecan | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstractObjective response rate as determined by independent radiology review | primaryFriedman 2009 | 28.2% | — | Noncomparative design: the trial did not test one arm against the other, and the abstract gives no confidence intervals. |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstractEstimated progression-free survival rate at 6 months as determined by independent radiology review | primaryFriedman 2009 | 42.6% at 6 mo | — | — |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstract | primaryFriedman 2009 | median 9.2 months | — | Secondary endpoint; no confidence intervals or hazard ratio in the abstract. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab alone / Bevacizumab plus irinotecan | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORRRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstractObjective response rate as determined by independent radiology review | primaryFriedman 2009 | 28.2% | — | Noncomparative design: the trial did not test one arm against the other, and the abstract gives no confidence intervals. |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstractEstimated progression-free survival rate at 6 months as determined by independent radiology review | primaryFriedman 2009 | 42.6% at 6 mo | — | — |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=167); analysis population not stated in the abstract | primaryFriedman 2009 | median 9.2 months | — | Secondary endpoint; no confidence intervals or hazard ratio in the abstract. |
- Bevacizumab alone (experimental)
- Bevacizumab plus irinotecan (experimental)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Bevacizumab alone | Bevacizumab plus irinotecan |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 63.6% | 62.0% |
| 12 | 40.5% | 38.4% |
| 17 | 27.8% | 25.8% |
| 23 | 17.7% | 16.0% |