Joint analysis of NSABP B-31 and NCCTG N9831: adjuvant chemotherapy with or without concurrent trastuzumab in HER2-positive operable breast cancer
Phase 3NCT00004067NCT00005970
- Population
- Women with surgically removed HER2-positive breast cancer
- Design
- Pre-specified joint analysis, added by amendment to two randomised trials (NSABP B-31 and NCCTG N9831), comparing the groups that received chemotherapy without trastuzumab (B-31 group 1 and N9831 group A) with the groups that received trastuzumab concurrently with paclitaxel (B-31 group 2 and N9831 group C); N9831 group B was excluded because trastuzumab was not given concurrently with paclitaxel.
- Arms
- Chemotherapy without trastuzumab (control): Doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide followed by paclitaxel (every 3 weeks in B-31, weekly in N9831)
- Chemotherapy with concurrent trastuzumab (experimental): Doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide followed by paclitaxel, with 52 weeks of trastuzumab beginning with paclitaxel
- People
- Romond EH
DFSHR 0.48
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Chemotherapy with concurrent trastuzumab | Chemotherapy without trastuzumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFSJoint analysis (B-31 and N9831 combined)Events: recurrence, second primary cancer, or death before recurrence | interimRomond 2005 | — | — | HR 0.48P<0.0001First scheduled interim analysis (data to 15 March 2005): 394 events, 133 in the trastuzumab group and 261 in the control group; crossed the early stopping boundary. Absolute disease-free survival difference of 12 percent at three years (arm values not stated in the abstract). No confidence interval is given in the abstract. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Chemotherapy with concurrent trastuzumab | Chemotherapy without trastuzumab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFSJoint analysis (B-31 and N9831 combined)Events: recurrence, second primary cancer, or death before recurrence | interimRomond 2005 | — | — | HR 0.48P<0.0001First scheduled interim analysis (data to 15 March 2005): 394 events, 133 in the trastuzumab group and 261 in the control group; crossed the early stopping boundary. Absolute disease-free survival difference of 12 percent at three years (arm values not stated in the abstract). No confidence interval is given in the abstract. |