AVAglio
Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide for newly diagnosed glioblastoma (AVAglio)
Phase 3NCT00943826
- Population
- Patients with newly diagnosed supratentorial glioblastoma; 458 assigned to bevacizumab and 463 to placebo
- Design
- Randomised phase 3 trial of intravenous bevacizumab (10 mg/kg every 2 weeks) or placebo plus radiotherapy (2 Gy 5 days a week; maximum 60 Gy) and daily temozolomide (75 mg/m2) for 6 weeks, then after a 28-day break maintenance bevacizumab or placebo plus temozolomide (150 to 200 mg/m2 for 5 days) for six 4-week cycles, then bevacizumab 15 mg/kg every 3 weeks or placebo until progression or unacceptable toxicity; coprimary endpoints investigator-assessed progression-free survival and overall survival
- Primary endpoint
- PFS, OS
- Arms
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental, n = 458): Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg every 2 weeks with radiotherapy and temozolomide, then maintenance bevacizumab with temozolomide, then bevacizumab monotherapy
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control, n = 463): Placebo with radiotherapy and temozolomide, then maintenance placebo with temozolomide, then placebo
- People
- Chinot OL
PFSHR 0.64 (95% CI 0.55–0.74)Δ median PFS+4.4 monthsOSHR 0.88 (95% CI 0.76–1.02)Δ 12-month OS+6.1 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=458 and n=463); analysis population not stated in the abstractInvestigator-assessed progression-free survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryChinot 2014 | median 10.6 months | median 6.2 months | HR 0.64 (95% CI 0.55–0.74)P<0.001Stratified hazard ratio for progression or death. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=458 and n=463); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryChinot 2014 | 72.4% at 12 mo; 33.9% at 2 y | 66.3% at 12 mo; 30.1% at 2 y | HR 0.88 (95% CI 0.76–1.02)P=0.10Stratified hazard ratio for death; the abstract reports no significant difference. Survival at 1 year: P=0.049; at 2 years: P=0.24. Medians are not given in the abstract. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=458 and n=463); analysis population not stated in the abstractInvestigator-assessed progression-free survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryChinot 2014 | median 10.6 months | median 6.2 months | HR 0.64 (95% CI 0.55–0.74)P<0.001Stratified hazard ratio for progression or death. |
| OSRandomly assigned patients (n=458 and n=463); analysis population not stated in the abstractOverall survival (coprimary endpoint) | primaryChinot 2014 | 72.4% at 12 mo; 33.9% at 2 y | 66.3% at 12 mo; 30.1% at 2 y | HR 0.88 (95% CI 0.76–1.02)P=0.10Stratified hazard ratio for death; the abstract reports no significant difference. Survival at 1 year: P=0.049; at 2 years: P=0.24. Medians are not given in the abstract. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.64 | 0.55–0.74 |
| OS | 0.88 | 0.76–1.02 |
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental)
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 7 | 63.3% | 45.7% |
| 13 | 42.7% | 23.4% |
| 20 | 27.0% | 10.7% |
| 27 | 17.1% | 4.9% |
- Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (experimental)
- Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide (control)
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Bevacizumab plus radiotherapy-temozolomide | Placebo plus radiotherapy-temozolomide |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 6 | 86.9% | 83.3% |
| 13 | 69.6% | 63.4% |
| 19 | 50.5% | 45.3% |
| 26 | 33.9% | 30.1% |