AMPLIFY
Study of Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) in Combination With Venetoclax (ABT-199), With and Without Obinutuzumab (GA101) Versus Chemoimmunotherapy for Previously Untreated CLL
Phase 3N = 867NCT03836261
- Population
- Previously untreated CLL, ECOG performance status 0 to 2, without 17p deletion or TP53 mutation; median age 61 years.
- Design
- Open-label randomised phase 3, 1:1:1: acalabrutinib-venetoclax (acalabrutinib in cycles 1 to 14, venetoclax in cycles 3 to 14), acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab (plus obinutuzumab in cycles 2 to 7), or investigator's choice of FCR or BR (cycles 1 to 6). The primary comparison was acalabrutinib-venetoclax versus chemoimmunotherapy. ClinicalTrials.gov lists 984 as actual enrolment; the paper reports 867 randomised, and the paper's number is used.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Acalabrutinib-venetoclax (experimental, n = 291): Acalabrutinib cycles 1 to 14, venetoclax cycles 3 to 14
- Acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab (experimental, n = 286): Acalabrutinib-venetoclax plus obinutuzumab in cycles 2 to 7
- Chemoimmunotherapy (control, n = 290): Investigator's choice of FCR (143 patients) or BR (147 patients), cycles 1 to 6
- People
- Brown JR
PFSHR 0.65 (95% CI 0.49–0.87)Δ 36-month PFS+10 pointsΔ 36-month PFS+16.6 pointsΔ 36-month OS+8.2 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Acalabrutinib-venetoclax / Acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab | Chemoimmunotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSIntention-to-treat population (867 randomised) | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 76.5% at 3 y | 66.5% at 3 y | HR 0.65 (95% CI 0.49–0.87)P=0.004Progression-free survival assessed by blinded independent central review; primary comparison. |
| PFSIntention-to-treat population (867 randomised) | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 83.1% at 3 y | 66.5% at 3 y | P<0.001Acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab versus chemoimmunotherapy; the abstract gives a P value but no hazard ratio for this comparison. This is not the primary comparison, which was acalabrutinib-venetoclax versus chemoimmunotherapy. |
| OSRandomised patients (867); the abstract does not state the analysis population for overall survival | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 94.1% at 3 y | 85.9% at 3 y | The abstract gives no hazard ratio or P value for overall survival. Death from COVID-19 was reported in 10, 25 and 21 patients in the three groups. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Acalabrutinib-venetoclax / Acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab | Chemoimmunotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSIntention-to-treat population (867 randomised) | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 76.5% at 3 y | 66.5% at 3 y | HR 0.65 (95% CI 0.49–0.87)P=0.004Progression-free survival assessed by blinded independent central review; primary comparison. |
| PFSIntention-to-treat population (867 randomised) | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 83.1% at 3 y | 66.5% at 3 y | P<0.001Acalabrutinib-venetoclax-obinutuzumab versus chemoimmunotherapy; the abstract gives a P value but no hazard ratio for this comparison. This is not the primary comparison, which was acalabrutinib-venetoclax versus chemoimmunotherapy. |
| OSRandomised patients (867); the abstract does not state the analysis population for overall survival | primarymedian follow-up 40.8 monthsBrown 2025 | 94.1% at 3 y | 85.9% at 3 y | The abstract gives no hazard ratio or P value for overall survival. Death from COVID-19 was reported in 10, 25 and 21 patients in the three groups. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.65 | 0.49–0.87 |