A041202
Ibrutinib regimens versus chemoimmunotherapy in older patients with untreated CLL
Phase 3N = 547NCT01886872
- Population
- Untreated CLL, age 65 years or older
- Design
- Phase 3 trial; patients aged 65 or older with untreated CLL randomly assigned to bendamustine-rituximab, ibrutinib, or ibrutinib plus rituximab. Primary endpoint PFS. The data and safety monitoring board released the data after the protocol-specified efficacy threshold was met.
- Primary endpoint
- PFS
- Arms
- Bendamustine-rituximab (control, n = 183): Bendamustine plus rituximab
- Ibrutinib (experimental, n = 182): Ibrutinib alone
- Ibrutinib-rituximab (experimental, n = 182): Ibrutinib plus rituximab
- People
- Woyach JA, senior author Byrd JC
PFSHR 0.39 (95% CI 0.26–0.58)Δ 24-month PFS+13 pointsPFSHR 0.38 (95% CI 0.25–0.59)Δ 24-month PFS+14 pointsPFSHR 1.00 (95% CI 0.62–1.62)
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib / Ibrutinib-rituximab | Bendamustine-rituximab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 87% at 2 y | 74% at 2 y | HR 0.39 (95% CI 0.26–0.58)P<0.001PFS at 2 years. Median PFS was reached only with bendamustine-rituximab. Overall survival: no significant difference among the three groups at a median follow-up of 38 months (abstract gives no values). |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 88% at 2 y | 74% at 2 y | HR 0.38 (95% CI 0.25–0.59)P<0.001PFS at 2 years. |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 87% at 2 y | — | HR 1.00 (95% CI 0.62–1.62)P=0.49Hazard ratio compares ibrutinib-rituximab with ibrutinib alone (no significant difference); direction of the ratio as stated in the abstract. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ibrutinib / Ibrutinib-rituximab | Bendamustine-rituximab | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 87% at 2 y | 74% at 2 y | HR 0.39 (95% CI 0.26–0.58)P<0.001PFS at 2 years. Median PFS was reached only with bendamustine-rituximab. Overall survival: no significant difference among the three groups at a median follow-up of 38 months (abstract gives no values). |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 88% at 2 y | 74% at 2 y | HR 0.38 (95% CI 0.25–0.59)P<0.001PFS at 2 years. |
| PFSRandomly assigned patients (n=547); the abstract does not state the analysis population | primaryWoyach 2018 | 87% at 2 y | — | HR 1.00 (95% CI 0.62–1.62)P=0.49Hazard ratio compares ibrutinib-rituximab with ibrutinib alone (no significant difference); direction of the ratio as stated in the abstract. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| PFS | 0.39 | 0.26–0.58 |
| PFS | 0.38 | 0.25–0.59 |
| PFS | 1 | 0.62–1.62 |