ALINA
A Study Comparing Adjuvant Alectinib Versus Adjuvant Platinum-Based Chemotherapy in Patients With ALK Positive Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Phase 3N = 257NCT03456076
- Population
- Completely resected ALK-positive NSCLC of stage IB (tumours 4 cm or larger), II or IIIA (AJCC/UICC seventh edition)
- Design
- Global, open-label, randomised phase 3 trial (1:1). Alectinib 600 mg orally twice daily for 24 months versus intravenous platinum-based chemotherapy in four 21-day cycles. Primary endpoint disease-free survival, tested hierarchically in stage II or IIIA disease and then in the intention-to-treat population.
- Primary endpoint
- DFS
- Arms
- Platinum-based chemotherapy (control, n = 127): Intravenous platinum-based chemotherapy, four 21-day cycles
- Alectinib (experimental, n = 130): Alectinib 600 mg orally twice daily for 24 months
- People
- Wu YL
DFSHR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.45)Δ 24-month DFS+30.8 pointsDFSHR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.43)Δ 24-month DFS+29.9 points
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Alectinib | Platinum-based chemotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFSPatients with stage II or IIIA diseasePercentage alive and disease-free at 2 years; hazard ratio for disease recurrence or death | primaryWu 2024 | 93.8% at 2 y | 63% at 2 y | HR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.45)P<0.001The abstract gives 2-year percentages and a hazard ratio; it does not give median DFS. |
| DFSPercentage alive and disease-free at 2 years; hazard ratio for disease recurrence or death | primaryWu 2024 | 93.6% at 2 y | 63.7% at 2 y | HR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.43)P<0.001Secondary endpoint, CNS disease-free survival: hazard ratio for CNS disease recurrence or death 0.22 (95% CI 0.08 to 0.58); the abstract does not state the population or event counts for that analysis. Overall survival data were immature. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Alectinib | Platinum-based chemotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DFSPatients with stage II or IIIA diseasePercentage alive and disease-free at 2 years; hazard ratio for disease recurrence or death | primaryWu 2024 | 93.8% at 2 y | 63% at 2 y | HR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.45)P<0.001The abstract gives 2-year percentages and a hazard ratio; it does not give median DFS. |
| DFSPercentage alive and disease-free at 2 years; hazard ratio for disease recurrence or death | primaryWu 2024 | 93.6% at 2 y | 63.7% at 2 y | HR 0.24 (95% CI 0.13–0.43)P<0.001Secondary endpoint, CNS disease-free survival: hazard ratio for CNS disease recurrence or death 0.22 (95% CI 0.08 to 0.58); the abstract does not state the population or event counts for that analysis. Overall survival data were immature. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| DFS | 0.24 | 0.13–0.45 |
| DFS | 0.24 | 0.13–0.43 |