AGILE
Ivosidenib and azacitidine in IDH1-mutated acute myeloid leukemia
Phase 3N = 146NCT03173248
- Population
- Newly diagnosed IDH1-mutated AML in patients ineligible for intensive induction chemotherapy
- Design
- Randomized, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial. Oral ivosidenib 500 mg once daily or matched placebo with azacitidine 75 mg/m2 for 7 days in 28-day cycles. Primary end point: event-free survival, defined as time from randomization until treatment failure (no complete remission by week 24), relapse from remission, or death.
- Primary endpoint
- EFS
- Arms
- Ivosidenib + azacitidine (experimental, n = 72): Ivosidenib 500 mg daily plus azacitidine 75 mg/m2 for 7 days in 28-day cycles
- Placebo + azacitidine (control, n = 74): Matched placebo plus azacitidine 75 mg/m2 for 7 days in 28-day cycles
- People
- Montesinos P
EFSHR 0.33 (95% CI 0.16–0.69)Δ 12-month EFS+25 pointsOSHR 0.44 (95% CI 0.27–0.73)Δ median OS+16.1 months
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ivosidenib + azacitidine | Placebo + azacitidine | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFS | primarymedian follow-up 12.4 monthsMontesinos 2022 | 37% at 12 mo | 12% at 12 mo | HR 0.33 (95% CI 0.16–0.69)P=0.002Hazard ratio for treatment failure, relapse from remission, or death. The abstract gives no median EFS. |
| OS | primaryMontesinos 2022 | median 24 months | median 7.9 months | HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.27–0.73)P=0.001The abstract states the median follow-up of 12.4 months for the event-free survival analysis, not for overall survival, so none is recorded here. The abstract lists overall survival after event-free survival; whether it was a key secondary end point is not stated there. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Ivosidenib + azacitidine | Placebo + azacitidine | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EFS | primarymedian follow-up 12.4 monthsMontesinos 2022 | 37% at 12 mo | 12% at 12 mo | HR 0.33 (95% CI 0.16–0.69)P=0.002Hazard ratio for treatment failure, relapse from remission, or death. The abstract gives no median EFS. |
| OS | primaryMontesinos 2022 | median 24 months | median 7.9 months | HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.27–0.73)P=0.001The abstract states the median follow-up of 12.4 months for the event-free survival analysis, not for overall survival, so none is recorded here. The abstract lists overall survival after event-free survival; whether it was a key secondary end point is not stated there. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| EFS | 0.33 | 0.16–0.69 |
| OS | 0.44 | 0.27–0.73 |
- Ivosidenib + azacitidine (experimental)
- Placebo + azacitidine (control)
Median-only curves assume a constant hazard (exponential) and fit plateaus, as seen with some immunotherapies, poorly.
Data table (modelled values)
| Months | Ivosidenib + azacitidine | Placebo + azacitidine |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 100.0% | 100.0% |
| 15 | 64.8% | 26.8% |
| 30 | 42.0% | 7.2% |
| 45 | 27.3% | 1.9% |
| 60 | 17.7% | 0.5% |