Skip to content
Bending the Curve Trial by Trial
?

AALL0622

Dasatinib plus intensive chemotherapy in children, adolescents and young adults with Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia (Children's Oncology Group AALL0622; Bristol Myers Squibb CA180-204)

Phase 2/3N = 60NCT00720109

Population
Eligible patients aged 1 to 30 years with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL (60 enrolled)
Design
Single-arm Children's Oncology Group study of the safety and feasibility of adding dasatinib to intensive chemotherapy from induction day 15. Transplant was recommended for high-risk (slow-response) patients and for those with a matched family donor after at least 11 weeks of therapy; standard-risk (rapid-response) patients received chemotherapy plus dasatinib for a further 120 weeks; overt CNS leukemia received cranial irradiation. Registry lists phase 2/3. Outcomes were compared by the authors with COG AALL0031.
Primary endpoint
EFS
Arms
  • Dasatinib plus chemotherapy (experimental, n = 60): Dasatinib 60 mg/m2 once daily from induction day 15 with intensive chemotherapy (cohort 1 discontinuous, 2 weeks of each block; cohort 2 continuous)
  • AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (imatinib) (control, n = 54): Same chemotherapy with continuous imatinib, COG AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 including patients who had transplant (separate earlier trial, used by the authors for comparison)
People
Slayton WB, senior author Hunger SP, Children's Oncology Group
Δ 60-month OS+5 pointsΔ 60-month DFS−8 pointsΔ 60-month CNS relapse+8.8 points
Show the numbers
Results reported for AALL0622
EndpointAnalysisDasatinib plus chemotherapyAALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (imatinib)Effect
OSEligible enrolled patients in AALL0622 (n=60) compared with AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (n=54), both including patients who had transplant (cross-trial comparison reported by the authors)Overall survival at 5 yearsexploratorySlayton 201886% at 5 y81% at 5 yP=0.63Reported as 86% ± 5% (AALL0622) and 81% ± 6% (AALL0031). The abstract labels the ± values as standard deviations; Methods state standard errors by Peto and Peto. Cross-trial comparison, not randomised.
DFSEligible enrolled patients in AALL0622 (n=60) compared with AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (n=54), both including patients who had transplant (cross-trial comparison reported by the authors)Disease-free survival at 5 yearsexploratorySlayton 201860% at 5 y68% at 5 yP=0.31Reported as 60% ± 7% (AALL0622) and 68% ± 7% (AALL0031). The abstract labels the ± values as standard deviations; Methods state standard errors by Peto and Peto. Cross-trial comparison, not randomised.
EFSStandard-risk patients (n=48 in the 5-year analysis)Event-free survival at 3 years in standard-risk (rapid-response) patients (primary outcome: achievement of 3-year EFS of at least 60%)primarySlayton 201884.6% at 3 y—Reported as 84.6% ± 5.7% (± labelled standard deviation in the full text). Not stated in the abstract.
EFSEligible enrolled patients (60)Event-free survival at 5 yearslong term-updateSlayton 201860% at 5 y—Reported as 60% ± 7% overall; 61% ± 7% in standard-risk patients (n=48, 19% underwent transplant) and 67% ± 19% in high-risk patients (n=9, 89% underwent transplant). The ± values are labelled standard deviations in the abstract. The trial's primary outcome was 3-year EFS in standard-risk patients (see efs-3y-standard-risk); the 5-year figures are a longer-follow-up report (data current as of December 2016).
CNS relapseNon-transplanted, non-CNS3 patients in AALL0622 (n=40; 6 CNS relapses) compared with the corresponding AALL0031 patients given continuous imatinib and cranial irradiation (n=31; 2 CNS relapses)Five-year cumulative incidence of isolated or combined CNS relapselong term-updateSlayton 201815.4% at 5 y6.6% at 5 yP=0.30Reported as 15.4% ± 5.9% (abstract: 15% ± 6%, not restating the subset) versus 6.6% ± 4.6% in AALL0031 (P=0.30, not significant). The abstract does not say that the 15% applies to the 40 non-transplanted, non-CNS3 patients rather than all 60. In AALL0031 all patients received cranial irradiation; the AALL0622 authors described the CNS relapse rate as surprisingly high and as contributing in part to EFS not improving.
Results reported for AALL0622
EndpointAnalysisDasatinib plus chemotherapyAALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (imatinib)Effect
OSEligible enrolled patients in AALL0622 (n=60) compared with AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (n=54), both including patients who had transplant (cross-trial comparison reported by the authors)Overall survival at 5 yearsexploratorySlayton 201886% at 5 y81% at 5 yP=0.63Reported as 86% ± 5% (AALL0622) and 81% ± 6% (AALL0031). The abstract labels the ± values as standard deviations; Methods state standard errors by Peto and Peto. Cross-trial comparison, not randomised.
DFSEligible enrolled patients in AALL0622 (n=60) compared with AALL0031 cohorts 4 and 5 (n=54), both including patients who had transplant (cross-trial comparison reported by the authors)Disease-free survival at 5 yearsexploratorySlayton 201860% at 5 y68% at 5 yP=0.31Reported as 60% ± 7% (AALL0622) and 68% ± 7% (AALL0031). The abstract labels the ± values as standard deviations; Methods state standard errors by Peto and Peto. Cross-trial comparison, not randomised.
EFSStandard-risk patients (n=48 in the 5-year analysis)Event-free survival at 3 years in standard-risk (rapid-response) patients (primary outcome: achievement of 3-year EFS of at least 60%)primarySlayton 201884.6% at 3 y—Reported as 84.6% ± 5.7% (± labelled standard deviation in the full text). Not stated in the abstract.
EFSEligible enrolled patients (60)Event-free survival at 5 yearslong term-updateSlayton 201860% at 5 y—Reported as 60% ± 7% overall; 61% ± 7% in standard-risk patients (n=48, 19% underwent transplant) and 67% ± 19% in high-risk patients (n=9, 89% underwent transplant). The ± values are labelled standard deviations in the abstract. The trial's primary outcome was 3-year EFS in standard-risk patients (see efs-3y-standard-risk); the 5-year figures are a longer-follow-up report (data current as of December 2016).
CNS relapseNon-transplanted, non-CNS3 patients in AALL0622 (n=40; 6 CNS relapses) compared with the corresponding AALL0031 patients given continuous imatinib and cranial irradiation (n=31; 2 CNS relapses)Five-year cumulative incidence of isolated or combined CNS relapselong term-updateSlayton 201815.4% at 5 y6.6% at 5 yP=0.30Reported as 15.4% ± 5.9% (abstract: 15% ± 6%, not restating the subset) versus 6.6% ± 4.6% in AALL0031 (P=0.30, not significant). The abstract does not say that the 15% applies to the 40 non-transplanted, non-CNS3 patients rather than all 60. In AALL0031 all patients received cranial irradiation; the AALL0622 authors described the CNS relapse rate as surprisingly high and as contributing in part to EFS not improving.
Primary publication: Slayton WB, Schultz KR, Kairalla JA, Devidas M, Mi X, Pulsipher MA, et al. Dasatinib Plus Intensive Chemotherapy in Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults With Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia: Results of Children's Oncology Group Trial AALL0622. J Clin Oncol. 2018;36(22):2306-2314. PubMedDOI

Appears in

Sources

  1. Slayton WB, Schultz KR, Kairalla JA, Devidas M, Mi X, Pulsipher MA, et al. Dasatinib Plus Intensive Chemotherapy in Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults With Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia: Results of Children's Oncology Group Trial AALL0622. J Clin Oncol. 2018;36(22):2306-2314.

    PubMedDOI