Tumours of the thymus: a cohort study of prognostic factors from the European Society of Thoracic Surgeons database
Phase observationalN = 2,030
- Population
- 2,030 patients analysed for OS in the ESTS retrospective thymic database (1,798 thymomas, 191 thymic carcinomas, 41 neuroendocrine thymic tumours)
- Design
- Retrospective database of the European Society of Thoracic Surgeons (ESTS): 2,151 incident cases from 35 institutions, 1990 to 2010, of patients who had surgery for thymic tumours. Primary outcome OS; secondary outcomes were the proportion of incomplete resections, disease-free survival and the cumulative incidence of recurrence. 2,030 patients were analysed for OS (1,798 thymomas, 191 thymic carcinomas and 41 neuroendocrine thymic tumours). Hazard ratios are from a multivariable analysis; an analysis using a propensity score addressed adjuvant therapy in R0 resections (type of adjuvant therapy not stated in the abstract).
- Primary endpoint
- OS
- Arms
- All patients analysed (experimental, n = 2,030): Surgery for a thymic tumour; adjuvant therapy in some patients (radiotherapy, chemotherapy or both; see the adjuvant-therapy result)
- People
- Ruffini E, ESTS Thymic Working Group
OSHR 1.74 (95% CI 1.18–2.57)OSHR 2.66 (95% CI 1.80–3.92)OSHR 4.41 (95% CI 2.67–7.26)OSHR 0.69 (95% CI 0.49–0.97)
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | All patients analysed | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| R0 resectionPatients in the ESTS database analysis (1,709 complete resections, 88%, per Table 1 of the full text; the abstract does not state the denominator) | finalRuffini 2014 | 88% | — | — |
| OSIncomplete (R1-R2) versus complete (R0) resection, multivariable model | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 1.74 (95% CI 1.18–2.57)Observational association from the multivariable model (full text, Table 2: R+ versus R0, univariable HR 3.87, 2.82-5.30; multivariable HR 1.74, 1.18-2.57). The reference group is complete (R0) resection. |
| OSMasaoka stage III versus stage I (multivariable model) | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 2.66 (95% CI 1.80–3.92)Multivariable model (full text, Table 2); stage I is the reference. |
| OSMasaoka stage IV versus stage I (multivariable model) | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 4.41 (95% CI 2.67–7.26)Multivariable model (full text, Table 2); stage I is the reference. |
| OSR0 resections, adjuvant therapy (type not stated) versus none, propensity-score analysis | exploratoryRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.49–0.97)Observational association in a propensity-score analysis of R0 resections. The abstract does not state which adjuvant therapies were included; the full text reports that adjuvant therapy was given to 853 patients and consisted of radiotherapy (566), chemotherapy (44) or both (243). The estimate is not specific to postoperative radiotherapy. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | All patients analysed | Control | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| R0 resectionPatients in the ESTS database analysis (1,709 complete resections, 88%, per Table 1 of the full text; the abstract does not state the denominator) | finalRuffini 2014 | 88% | — | — |
| OSIncomplete (R1-R2) versus complete (R0) resection, multivariable model | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 1.74 (95% CI 1.18–2.57)Observational association from the multivariable model (full text, Table 2: R+ versus R0, univariable HR 3.87, 2.82-5.30; multivariable HR 1.74, 1.18-2.57). The reference group is complete (R0) resection. |
| OSMasaoka stage III versus stage I (multivariable model) | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 2.66 (95% CI 1.80–3.92)Multivariable model (full text, Table 2); stage I is the reference. |
| OSMasaoka stage IV versus stage I (multivariable model) | finalRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 4.41 (95% CI 2.67–7.26)Multivariable model (full text, Table 2); stage I is the reference. |
| OSR0 resections, adjuvant therapy (type not stated) versus none, propensity-score analysis | exploratoryRuffini 2014 | — | — | HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.49–0.97)Observational association in a propensity-score analysis of R0 resections. The abstract does not state which adjuvant therapies were included; the full text reports that adjuvant therapy was given to 853 patients and consisted of radiotherapy (566), chemotherapy (44) or both (243). The estimate is not specific to postoperative radiotherapy. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 1.74 | 1.18–2.57 |
| OS | 2.66 | 1.8–3.92 |
| OS | 4.41 | 2.67–7.26 |
| OS | 0.69 | 0.49–0.97 |