Postoperative radiotherapy in stage II and III thymic carcinoma and thymoma: analysis of the Japanese Association for Research on the Thymus database
Needs reviewPhase observationalN = 1,265
- Population
- Patients with Masaoka stage II or III thymic carcinoma (155, 12.3%) or thymoma (1,110, 87.7%) in the JART database; 895 (70.8%) were stage II and 370 (29.2%) stage III
- Design
- Retrospective analysis of the Japanese Association for Research on the Thymus (JART) database (2,835 patients registered from 32 Japanese institutions, 1991 to 2010), restricted to Masaoka stage II or III thymic carcinoma or thymoma. Relapse-free survival (RFS) and overall survival (OS) were compared with and without postoperative radiotherapy (PORT) by the Kaplan-Meier method and Cox regression. Not randomised. The abstract does not say whether resection was complete and does not give the radiotherapy dose. 403 of 1,265 patients (31.9%) had PORT. For thymoma, the abstract reports that PORT was not associated with RFS or OS (one P value, .350) and gives no hazard ratios.
- Arms
- No postoperative radiotherapy (control): Surgery without postoperative radiotherapy (group size not stated in the abstract)
- Postoperative radiotherapy (thymic carcinoma and thymoma combined) (experimental, n = 403): Surgery followed by postoperative radiotherapy (dose and technique not stated in the abstract)
- People
- Omasa M, Japanese Association for Research on the Thymus (JART)
RFSHR 0.48 (95% CI 0.30–0.78)OSHR 0.94 (95% CI 0.51–1.75)
Show the numbers
| Endpoint | Analysis | Postoperative radiotherapy (thymic carcinoma and thymoma combined) | No postoperative radiotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RFSStage II or III thymic carcinoma (155 patients), PORT versus no PORT | finalOmasa 2015 | — | — | HR 0.48 (95% CI 0.30–0.78)P=.003Observational association. The abstract describes PORT as associated with increasing RFS and does not name the reference group. |
| OSStage II or III thymic carcinoma (155 patients), PORT versus no PORT | finalOmasa 2015 | — | — | HR 0.94 (95% CI 0.51–1.75)P=.536Observational association. The abstract states PORT was not associated with OS in thymic carcinoma. |
| Endpoint | Analysis | Postoperative radiotherapy (thymic carcinoma and thymoma combined) | No postoperative radiotherapy | Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RFSStage II or III thymic carcinoma (155 patients), PORT versus no PORT | finalOmasa 2015 | — | — | HR 0.48 (95% CI 0.30–0.78)P=.003Observational association. The abstract describes PORT as associated with increasing RFS and does not name the reference group. |
| OSStage II or III thymic carcinoma (155 patients), PORT versus no PORT | finalOmasa 2015 | — | — | HR 0.94 (95% CI 0.51–1.75)P=.536Observational association. The abstract states PORT was not associated with OS in thymic carcinoma. |
Data table
| Endpoint | HR | 95% CI |
|---|---|---|
| RFS | 0.48 | 0.3–0.78 |
| OS | 0.94 | 0.51–1.75 |